I’d stand in line for Confession with old people and little kids, and as the line moved up, I knew when I got into the box that I would lie! Again!
Mercedes McCambridge

Wow…does that ever bring back memories….and so I wonder….Are  confessions really good for the soul???…
Hmmm….I remember when I was just a kid… growing  up Catholic…confession was a regular occurrence for me…. I was so worried that I might forget…some  terrible sin …I had made over the past week…that… …to cover for that…I too …would always end with confessing … I lied!!!…
Looking back…I remember  I always said that …just in case I might have forgotten a little sin…What little sin I didn’t really know…I thought I was being so very smart in those days…and I never did tell anyone…till years later… And  now I learn that … I was not alone in my cleverness…as Mercedes McCambridge…did the same thing…ahh..great minds….

Anyway….I will admit that..in those days…confession  WAS ,,,good for my soul..you see..I was always relieved after confession…..I think just the act of  doing it …was penance enough to last me for years…To this day I wonder…was that priest was ever really listening .
However…Here I am… decades later…wondering if Confessing is still good for the soul…good for my soul??…and so…I thought …why not try an experiment….here goes……Millions of people watch TV …and…millions of them watch lots….and …millions of them lie about it all the time…not wanting to be judged because of it….Well..I will confess….I am here to say…I love TV…yes…I have said it…I love TV !!!…. I love watching my TV….I love getting to know all those characters in the shows…I love seeing places I have been to on my T.V….I love reality shows  and police shows….I love …Two and a half Men…C.S.I….Hawaii 5 O…Law and Order and more….
Whew….that wasn’t so bad….Yes…I actually think….that was good for my soul…

Talking about T.V….got me thinking…Last night I …as I was watching  my T.V….I thought  about  some of the weird …unreal …stuff …we watch…stuff  they keep putting  into shows…..stuff that in real life…just would not happen…thing like…
  • when someone is driving, looks away from the road…at a passenger..not for a second…not for 5 seconds…but for 10 seconds or more…and doesn’t get into an accident!!
  • chases…when let’s say the police are running after a criminal…for blocks….jumping over walls…and rolling over cars…and no one is out of breath
  • then there is the squealing of tires at really inappropriate times…like when a car is slowly taking off.
  • when someone wants to sneak up on someone but they keep the headlights on or loudly shut doors
  • when female actors  go to bed and wake up with all their makeup on

And the best one is …the one that I keep seeing over and over again is….

  • C.S.I…How each time they are at a crime scene…with those little flashlights…looking for evidence …and they find the one little hair or the one fingerprint which cracks the case..

I always wonder how… any home could be so immaculate… that only DNA from the night/day of the crime….would be the only debris  there….I sure hope that  a C.S.I crew…never has to come to my home…I am afraid that if they had to search myhouse…they would find a weeks worth of “stuff” to bag…and the case would never get solved!!!

Ok now…what do these unreal TV things have to do with confession….Nothing…However…I wonder how you feel about confession…would it be good for YOUR soul???…Is it possible that the more a person divulges about themsleves…the more freeing it can become???….If a person had no secrets…if a person’s life were like an open book…or…clear as a sparkling glass window….would it be freeing????
