Dr. Seuss’ birthday…has come and gone !!!

If he were still living …this past Wednesday  …March 2nd…he would have been 107 years old…Imagine how many more wonderful stories he could have told…all the weird characters he would have given birth to… if he were still alive…It makes me kind of sad to think about such a loss.

And so…I thought…in his honour… I would share with you…a character ..

A number of years ago I wrote a fun story about a gathering of …weird characters …which I shared with my daughter Michelle…Later that year for christmas…she gave me the most wonderful gift I could ever want….two illustrations to go with my first two characters…here is my favorite…

copyright  Michelle Beaudry  2o11

On my bed

Are my two skinny Zinks

With six eyes that just constantly blink

Having one bigger ear

And green bugs in their hair

They sure let off a terrible stink

By me….2007

What is so very interesting is that…we never discussed it…This is what she imagined from the words I put down on paper!!!  I don’t think I could have imagined anything so creative in my mind…Sure makes me realize how important the words in a kid’s story can really be….She and I have talked about collaborating on a book sometime in the future…my words and her illustrations…

What a dream that would be…

To see it become… reality !!!

Many ideas grow better when transplanted into another mind than the one where they sprang up.’

Oliver Wendell Holmes

