I wonder exactly what Tennyson meant when he said…the shell must break before the bird can fly???…Is he saying that events occur only after others do???….or might he mean…that nothing good comes without effort???…or that …if you want to soar you must break through your shell?…I am sure that…if I wanted to look it up…someone has analyzed and interpreted the meaning of this…however…I don’t care to find out.

This all brings me back to my school years and english classes…which I never did really like….It was not the reading that was my dislike…but rather…the interpretation of what I read…well.. not exactly…I had no problem interpreting…It was that I often did not come up with the same one as the teacher’s…which meant that…I was wrong…I had not understood…and so my grades reflected just that….To this day I don’t understand why I had to think like the teacher.

To this day…I think about that…and how great it is… to now…be in a place where I can interpret a story/book..anything for that matter…anyway I want…or…not !!!!…Does that all really matter???….Isn’t a good book …much like a great painting…to be enjoyed …from your mind’s eye???…It all makes me wonder about… how we see and enjoy things…like a good book..Might it  be the symbolism that jumps out at you..or the poetic tone ….or maybe the character development…or possibly even the visual picture it paints in your mind….You might focus on the vocabulary…or…the structure of the story  ….that helps you find enjoyment in it…or maybe it bring back memories….Why do we HAVE TO interpret it at all…but rather…enjoy it!!!!

“Chicks in the Sticks”…a book club I belong to…has caused me to think about all of this…We discuss each book… I suppose we interpret it to some degree…and often there are multiple perceptions …and I find that so very refreshing….many different ways a story is perceived…understood…and enjoyed…I am not really a “group” person…but in this case…it is freeing in a way…and the “group” is what makes it so…and the group…is often attended by a different complement of readers…which again makes it very interesting…hearing a variety of takes on the same book…without getting bad grades!!!

So I ask you…is understanding …simply someone’s perception???…It is said that a person’s perception …is…their reality…and if that is so…is it possible to ever change that reality???….Would a person’s perception have to be altered???…and if so…is that ever a possibility???…Think about it.

When you look at the pics below….what do you perceive??????

Is this a horse in the water…or…a seahorse ???

Are these shoes made of loaves of bread…or…loafers???

A chair covered with grass…or…a lawn chair???

A snail pulling envelopes…or…snail mail????

