Woe is me…well…maybe just a little bit…today …I received and read my first …negative comment…from a reader…Sooo….What did I do ???…I read it..thought about it a bit…and then deleted it…..I thought to myself…no need to dwell on it…rather…let it go.

Now …don’t get me wrong…I am the first one to say…constructive criticism… should be respected…and learned from…but to obsess over it is not healthy…so yes…delete it I did…but not without first reading it a few times.

Now…changing the subject….Today I was thinking about  books…childrens books to be exact…I got thinking about… all the questions that I have been asked about Sam’s Weird Afternoon…over the past months…and it came t me that… there is one that is always asked first…”Who did your illustrations”…and each time I hear that question…I wonder…are they asking because they love the illustrations..or because they don’t…it makes me wonder…how much do the illustrations  affect the sale  and enjoyment of a childrens book.??.

Kurt Jones,… a staff at Tate Publishing…. was the mastermind behind Sam’s coming to life…It is  his drawings …..that  brought my story to life with it’s brightly colored cover  and fun  illustrations…I would love to believe that my story ..would sell the book..just on it’s own merits….however…after spending hours in school  libraries…looking at book after book…I will admit…an illustrator is a vital component to a book for children. I will leave you will some examples below…I would love to know which one you like best….

