Today I really thought about …being creative…yes…creative I said !!!….February is …I love to read month…and…I was thrilled to receive an  invite to ..Minawasta..a local elementary school…..to read Sam’s Weird Afternoon…However…it became a bit challenging today…5 different classrooms came to sit and listen…I was having so much fun…however…I was actually boring myself…It was the same thing over and over…listening exercise…story…help with a new story I am writing…and so…I tried to change it up a bit…get creative.

Now I must be clear…I read the book to each class as if it was the very first group I had read it to…which was fun…It was the rest of the presentation that needed something…and so…thanks to …Fred Penner and his song…Sandwiches Are Beautiful…I decided to make a song to go with my book…I hope he doesn’t mind….I just took his song and changed the words to go like this…

My shoes are beautiful…my shoes are fine.

I like my shoes…I wear them all the time.

I wear them in the winter and I wear them in the fall.

If I had  a hundred pairs of shoes…

I think I’d wear them all.


 

 

To my surprise…the kids…whom …I must say… were wonderful listeners…were …even better  singers!!!…That little addition to each presentation…made all the difference…for me anyway. I still have 4 more classes in Minnewasta Elementary…to present to…but with more activities…I am now ready for more classes.

Ahhh…the life of a published writer…fun but tiring…Hmmm…what exactly happened ???…I thought I had retired with lots  of…freedom…no demands…sleeping in late…right???…WRONG!!  …..but I wouldn’t change a thing….It is easy to forget what fun kids can be…how they can make you laugh..laugh…and laugh again!!!…Now how bad can that be???

 

