Last night…I was given the gift of laughter…over and over an over again…as wonderful friends…entertained me with photos…stories…gifts…cards…writings..books…and songs…that I will never forget..!!  What a night!!!!…I was encouraged to wear…  a plastic , glittery tierra…a shiny beaded necklace…a mask …. as I blew out candles …did  blowing of soap bubbles in the frozen outside with friends…Lots of clowning around all night…made me feel…Forever Young.

So…Why did they do that you might ask???…Why give me the gift of laughter???….Well…Maybe because they just wanted to …or…maybe because it has been a long winter and we all needed a laugh…or…could it be because I sent out invites to all of them…and asked for it…a night of laughter????…Yes…I did ask for laughter….and why not???…Remember the old song…It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to???….Well….I thought it was time to change that to…It’s my party and I’ll laugh if I want to…and so…being my party… I laughed…and laughed and laughed…I laughed so hard..for so long …that my cheeks actually ached  !…I must say..it is all … “Thanks to a bunch of wonderful friends !!..the why is not important.  

So that got me to wondering about…asking  for and receiving something…versus… hoping/wishing  and waiting for…something to appear or occur in our lives….But how many of us…who really want something  from someone..do nothing to get it ???…How many of us… would rather wait and wish and hope???…and …how many of us find…we  are only  disappointed time after time???…How often do we NOT get what we would like???….How often do we keep waiting…keep not acting or asking???

Is it possible that if we don’t ask or act…we could be waiting forever???….Is it possible that  we could be constantly dissapointed…over and over again???…Does all the wishing and hoping… give us what we would like..???…Have you ever really thought about that???…Now I am the first to say that wishing and hoping are great attributes..in some situations…and definitely have their place… in the bigger scheme of things.

However…Many years ago…when my mortality was staring me in the eyes…I began to think about all the little things I had always hoped to get…the little things I had always wished would happen ..the little things that had now… become big things …Those  very little things that…the  longer they never occurred …the bigger they became… in my mind…It is not a bucket list but rather….my little plastic pail  list…..I began to look at that list and decided it was time to take action…Just like the other night…for my birthday asking  for a night of laughter…and…laughter I got!~!!..How simple was that????….All I had to do was …ASK ..!!

How did I feel about that???…Asking for something???….Would it have been better to get it without asking???…Might I have gotten it if I didn’t ask???? …well…I will never know….but with my cheeks still aching from the laughter I received…it couldn’t have been …any better !!!

“Stop the mindless wishing that things would be different. Rather than wasting time and emotional and spiritual energy in explaining why we don’t have what we want, we can start to pursue other ways to get it.”

Greg Anderson

So..my question is….what are we all waiting for.???…If there is something you would like.. !!! …It doesn’t matter if it is a laugh from your friends…roses from your husband….a wonderful gift for your birthday….it might even be a night out at a restaurant for dinner….or…a little hug…or maybe…that simple little swivel disc for exercising…(that is a story for a later day)…If you want it ….act/ask…why have we been waiting ????….

Do all  good things come to those who wait????…..or rather…is it…Ask and you shall receive…!!!

Hmmm….something to ponder….


