Home…unpacked and  already missing the sun…the sand…and the warmth…but…good to be home…Maui is an island of unthinkable beauty…and adventure…and I must say…I got my fill of both…Little did I know …that spending time in such a beautiful location…was going to be so scary and challenging…Now…You may be thinking….What????…sand…beach…and sun…challenging???…Well…that was exactly my thinking…however…

Let me start with the snorkeling….I had done this in the past…(25 years ago)…and I must tell you….I thought for sure …I was going to drown while  snorkeling …maybe I should have practiced a bit before I went out…over my head in the ocean…with no life jacket !!!…”No problem the guys said…you will float”…easy for them …wearing wet suits...to say…float???…float???…I did…float that is…until all the kicking to keep me up…tired me so much…that my energy was exhausted…I did manage to see two pretty yellow and black fish…for the few minutes I actually had my head in the water….but all I can say is….when I got to shore…with the aid of my husband…I had only enough energy to plop down on the beach mat …and wonder…how stupid am I???….would I be so dumb…as to follow the gang if they jumped off a cliff????

Then…a few days later…I did….just that….well…not actually …I didn’t JUMP off a cliff…but climbed down a very steep one…We had arrived at an off road site… ..and as I looked at it from the top of the cliff…a place where I was very comfortable…(thank you very much)…the gang I was with started climbing down it!!!….Oh no…here we go again!!!!….Without really thinking it out…I began to climb down as well… and as I did… I realized my short little legs …were barely long enough to reach each foot hold….As I continued…scared out of my whits…all I kept thinking is…how was I ever going to get back up????….But I did.

It was again with the help of my dear husband that I made it….The husband that I used to call my knight in shining armor…the husband whose armor..I joke about… being  a bit rusty these days…Well…what can I say…I do believe that my husband’s armor was beginning to shine ..once again….

 

The walk down…so very gentle.

But that is not the end of my adventures in Maui…next came the hike/walk…the gentle. …yes I said gentle…downward sloping 2 mile walk to Haleakala Crater…the walk /hike that had me wondering…was I going to have difficulty…turning around and climbing back up?…these oh so gentle trails??….Yes  gentle….but the gang kept walking and walking and walking…which got me to worrying about the walk back up…but they kept on…and guess what…so did I!!!…Oh…why.. oh why…didn’t I think…why didn’t I speak up…I usually have no problem with that??? …but…did I want to  be a wimp once again????….Little did I know how the high altitude would affect me…and how that gently sloping hike….isn’t so gentle when walking up it…The walk back was not an easy one…

I kept stripping off my layers of clothing…and my long jeans were wet with sweat…(dress warmly they said???)… as my pace got slower and slower…I had visions in my head of Death Valley… visions of skeletons along the trail there….and now…visions me being left behind…visions of my little skeleton…baking in the sun …on this trail…for those  to see..who dare walk out that far…to see!!!

The walk up…huff..huff..huff….Are we there yet???

But now…my knight in not so rusty armor…paced me and urged me on… when I had just about spent every ounce of energy…left in my body….It was not until I finally made it to the top that I realized…my toes were actually numb…and now…my knight’s armor was …shining brightly.

A view of the crater…from the trail.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You may be thinking….did this girl… really have a good vacation???….The answer is …indisputably…yes..yes…yes!!!…..The sun…the warm weather…the beaches…the food and the wonderful sights…made it all worth it….

Yes I was tested…way beyond my abilities…but…I am proud to say….I passed…I did it all…maybe not with flying colors…bit I did it!!

A walk in the bamboo forest…with my Knight in Shining Armor.

 

Yummy shrimp dish..

My black pearl dessert…

The Palms at Wailea…our condo.
