As some of you may know…I just love finding photos of monkeys…my childhood dream pet…the one that I had no hope of ever seeing …except for the ones the organ grinders had at special locations…The pet I never got…

Well the other day I was again looking for a new photo and came upon this….A Monkey Festival!!!…imagine that…a festival for MONKEYS….!!!…Now what fun would that be to see???

 

The Monkey Buffet Festival (Thailand)

Each year, all of the province’s approximately 600 monkeys are invited to eat fruits and vegetables during an annual feast held in honor of Rama, a hero of the Ramayana, who, it is said, rewarded his friend and ally, Hanuman the Monkey King, with what is now Lopburi. Organizers of the annual monkey buffet use more than 3,000 kg of fruits and vegetables for the festival.

The Monkey Buffet Festival (Thailand)

 

It is difficult to imagine that this small animal is continued to be celebrated to this day…I may have to consider saving up my pennies for a trip to see this..600 monkeys…. The fruit is so beautifully laid out…it is a shame that it has to be ruined…however…it is for monkeys….I wonder if they actually are able to eat it all up..and if they do…how long would it take for 600 little critters to finish it up????…I wonder…how about flies…and odor…after a few days or so …wouldn’t it begin to develop an AROMA???  And how about the clean up…who cleans up after  it all???…Or…maybe where it takes place it can be left indefinably.

Hmmm…I wonder if the monkeys are friendly???

_____________________________________________________________________________

And for this week’s collection….the World’s Most expensive________________________.

Today it is …shoes….shoes made of gold.

