“What the bajeebers”  is this woman talking about??? …you must be thinking…Give me a minute and I will explain…

However…. before I do…I first  want to discuss a human phenomenon….we  all fall victim to….I don’t know if there is a catchy name for it… but I suppose this word will explain….reinforcement …you know what I mean…those occasional events that occur …that encourage us….to do something over and over… with only occasional chance for it to occur again ….any time soon…Let me give you an example…The  kids in our neighborhood…during the summer months…spend hours on our street… skateboarding…  trying to make a certain jump….and..after attempting it …what seems like hundreds of times…are finally successful…It is that …that one in a hundred success…that will cause them to keep at it for hours and hours…with the  slight hope of making that jump again.

Yes…we have all been victims to this phenomenon….whether it be at work…or at play…Even though we are reinforced…only occasionally…for some  weird reason…that teeny little bit of reinforcement…it seems…is all it takes to do the same thing again and again…

And so…now my story…..One day this week…our neighbor next door called on the phone…” Look out your window!!” she said…” In my garden”… so..my husband and I …went to the back garden door windows…looked out…but could not see a thing…”Right in the middle of my garden” she kept saying to my husband as he held the phone receiver to his ear…and again…we looked into the yard next door….neither of us could see a thing…So..we decided to open up the back deck door to see better…and it was then…something…that had been curled up… resting on the snowy ground..right in the middle of the garden…stood up!!!..What a surprise… a beautiful deer stood there….and what a majestic animal it was…It gently shook the snow from its body…and…very slowly walked off into our back neighbor’s yard…as if without a care in the world.

We had seen …what appeared to be deer tracks …in our  yard over the past while..as well as in the neighbor’s…and although they, our neighbors… kept telling us that they often…watch them ….the visiting deer… I had never seen even one…I was beginning to think…there really were no deer at all… that our neighbors were just making it all up…that it was some kind of joke or something….but on that one day…I became a believer…yes…out of the snow the beautiful animal stood…just long enough for us to catch a glimpse…a glimpse that has me now looking out of my windows…over and over again…with the hopes of one more little glance….And although I have not seen a deer again…I will keep on looking…just in case.

So now…think about it…Is there something you find yourself doing…over and over again…with only a glimpse…a glimmer…a possible  moment…that reinforces  you to keep on doing it??? …How often do you find yourself a victim to this???…I know for me…for instance…during the summer months…I have sat in my garden…with birdseed in hand…still as a statue…with the hope of a bird landing on my hand and eating…and although it has only occurred  2 times …ever…I am sure that ….next summer…I will again…go out and put bird seed in my hand…in hopes of  one little creature…eating from my hand…Hmmm…deer…birds…???

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Here are a few more hotels/rooms …from my collection…interesting and weird

