Another NEW YEAR…another beginning…another chance to make those resolutions…and with only two more days left…it is time to do some thinking on that.

A New Year’s resolution is something that goes in one year and out the other.

I wonder how many out there have even thought about it at all….I wonder if anyone has a wonderful…different resolution…they want to attempt to  try…attempt to be successful at…I think the trick is to decide on one you can actually do!!!…One that we can blend into our lives…one that will make us feel good…not bad…and one that will add to our life.

Now of course we have all tried the …eat better…lose weight…exercise more…only to fail miserably at it…only to feel bad in a few months…Valiant attempts mean nothing  when it comes to New Year’s resolutions…So why do we keep doing it???…making resolutions that is???…Why do we keep trying and keep failing…and the next year…go and do the same thing???…I thought wisdom was supposed to come with age…so why then…with each new year…each year we are older… are we not wiser when it comes to resolutions???

So now…it is time for a change…time to start a new year…not with the hope of keeping a resolution…but with the excitement of adding one to our lives…why not???…It seems that most resolutions we have made in the past ….consist of trying to NOT do something …such as no more candy bars….no more chips…no more procrastinating…no more ____….

How about this year you add something little and concrete to your life…and make it easy and doable…like…getting a smile once a day (all you have to do is give one)…or…buy a new pair of socks once a month….or…buy someone’s coffee at Tim’s or Starbucks next time you are there…how about…have fresh flowers in the house regularly…or…once in a while when you decide to send an email/get on the phone instead…There are zillions of ideas…Yes some of mine involve spending a bit of money…but truly…aren’t we going to spend it somehow anyway???…so why not use it to make your ..and possibly …someone elses day…just a tiny bit  better????

Ahhh resolutions…I am sure many of you are going…BAh humbug…no resolutions for me!!!….but…I would encourage you to think again…think about what you might be missing without one….consider that…this is not about changing…it is adding to your life…and now really…is it possible that your life is so perfect???

And so…with two days left to ponder…I will do just that…and I am bound and determined to come up with that little addition to my life…Let’s see…in the past it was…buying only vine ripened tomatoes when grocery shopping…another year was…enjoy the quiet when driving in my Honda  (radio off)…and…giving a hug a day…..and I was able to do them all…to this day..Hmmm..so what will I add for 2011…I must brainstorm…

