13 days left till Christmas morning….time to start wrapping….

Have you ever said something and been misunderstood???…Have you ever done so …and not taken steps ….to correct that misunderstanding… only to wonder about it …or the other person…for the rest of the day???

A funny thing happened last night …we went out for dinner…during which…odd misunderstandings occurred…and it went something like this…..

The  setting….My husband and I … sitting in a beautiful restaurant…him with his soup and me with my salad… in front of us…I drinking coffee…he  drinking wine…

  • The waiter came to the table with a large pepper grinder… asked my husband ….”Would you like some pepper??”  he said “Yes”…and pepper was put on his soup….
  • Then the waiter looked at me…I was expecting him to ask if I wanted any pepper…but instead I heard him say…”Would you like more coffee??” to which I replied…maybe later…which confused me a bit …as he was holding the pepper grinder…and…never offered me pepper.
  • Next… my husband asked the waiter… for another glass of wine… the waiter… put more pepper on his soup…which confused me even more…as my husband did not seem concerned about all that pepper on his soup…which was looking quite black.
  • The waiter said nothing more…and…left the table
  • I then said to my husband..”did you realize… that when you asked the waiter for more wine…he gave you more pepper ???..I don’t think he heard you say wine”…to which he replied…”You’re right… I didn’t really think anything of it”
  • Then…my husband said to me…”did you realize the waiter asked you about pepper…but… you said something about your coffee instead????”…to which I replied…”No way…he asked if I wanted more coffee…I am sure of it!!”

Those few minutes with the waiter …were all  very polite moment…but now …moments after…we were both a bit confused…so..Once we realized the  confusion…we had a chat with the waiter…to find out…and …yes…the waiter misunderstood my husband….and…yes…I misunderstood the waiter!!!…now how weird is that…and we all laughed once it was cleared up.

It is a good thing we clarified it…. with the waiter …or …

  • my husband and I …most likely would have …“discussed” the events of the night….over and over and over again…with no way of knowing…what really occurred….
  • and
  • the waiter…might  have thought we were a very weird couple…the hard of hearing wife…with  the man who can’t seem to get enough pepper!!!

Have you been misunderstood lately???...Would you even know???

 

 

