27 days left till Christmas morning….

Ever hear a word being said and you thought to yourself…hmmm….I wonder what that means???…Have you ever been listening to speech and someone uses a word that you have never heard before… and …you get  so caught up with that word…and actually didn’t hear much of what followed???…

Well…that is exactly what happened to me last night….someone was giving a little talk and used the word…”EFFUSIVE”…which threw me right off as I had no idea what it meant…It was used in order to explain someone’s personality…and so…I figured… it had to be something good or it wouldn’t have been said with 20 people present..but…

I thought about it a bit…hmmm…should I let it go…or do I  ask for the meaning???…so …at an opportune time …I decided to dive in…I asked my friend…a past school teacher…what is the meaning of that word????….He did not answer but instead…turned to another retired teacher…and asked him if he would clarify it for me….The second person  then  admitted that …he did not really know that answer…AHA!!!….I was not alone in my ignorance…and …I would venture to think that… although many in the room …”had an idea of the word’s meaning”…they truly did not know it.

Ever found yourself in a like situation???…Wanting to ask for clarification but not sure if you should???…Wondering if you are the only one present…who doesn’t understand????…Waiting and hoping that someone will speak up and ask YOUR  question????…Have you ever weighed your  need to know…as opposed to the possibility of… embarrassing yourself????…

I wonder how much we have all missed or misunderstood…just because we were afraid to ask???…As children…all we do is ask !!!!…what…when …how…why….where….over and over again…that is one way children learn…Why is it that as we get older…we hesitate to ask….Can it be that we feel we have nothing more to learn from others???….Can it be that we want to appear smarter than we really are????….Can it be that it is just not that important to know????…or….Can it be that we are afraid to ask???

Well…for those of you out who need to know..I will clarify effusive for you…

effusive [ɪˈfjuːsɪv]

 

extravagantly demonstrative of emotion; gushing, uttered with unrestrained enthusiasm, burbling, gushy,
Do you know someone who is effusive???….Are you effusive????
**********************************************************************************************************
Here is another interesting piece of art….made out of chocolate this time….
Who would ever have the heart to actually eat such a beautiful creation…???


