Are you wearing a smile today????…read on…I sure am !!!  (no , that is not me)

There are times when …yes…you have to pick your battles…Through the years it has come to my attention…after trying to…that I could not fight them all.  Battles rage all around us everyday…some are real and important…others…not so important… some are perceived and are…really… only as big as we make them…and then there are those battles….that we have no choice but to fight….in hopes of being victorious over our enemy.

November is a month to remember… the battles that have been fought for our freedom…the battles that we did not have to physically engage in…the battles that someone else fought for us…Not only is it a month to remember those battles…but as well…those men and women who did the fighting for us…the men and women who…confronted our enemies…they who  chose to fight those…our… battles.

Over the past week or so…I too have been fighting a battle…No…just an imagined battle…it is not a battle that will just go away……And no…it is not one that will change the world…but it is a battle just the same….and it seems it is one I must fight….Fruit Flies!!!!  Yes, you heard me, Fruit Flies!!!! ….How can that be you may ask????…In the middle of November in Canada????….Beats me!!!…but there they are…hundreds of those tiny little pesky fellows…flying all over my house..

Could it be the bananas on my kitchen counter I wondered???…so away they went…Maybe it’s the empty beer bottles left in the sink….so…after a good washing…off they went too…But the little critters keep coming and coming…I emptied all the trash…I cleaned out under my sink…However…they remained persistent…It was a bit embarrassing when friends were over…and I was getting tired of swooshing my hand before my face in the hopes of removing at least a few from our home..

After hitting them with my hands…towels…sprays…with little change….It was finally yesterday… that I decided to wage war on these little guys…my enemies…I had had it!!!…The fruit flies were about see their demise…I had had enough!!!…I was determined to finally …fight the good fight!!!…And so…just as a  friend had encouraged me to do…I went and found the pretty little glass bug catcher I had bought a few years ago…for just this scenario…I very carefully filled the well in it…with some red wine…set it on the counter before I went to bed last night.

I woke this morning …to see what  appeared …what  might be a winning  battle…There were still a few little critters flying around the kitchen…however…inside the glass bug catcher…were numerous wine soaked bugs stuck to the glass walls…Yea!!!….And there many more still flying around inside the gadget…however…unable to escape the walls of their captor…aha!!!…

I was beginning to feel… victory was on the way…… So…I sat down to have my morning coffee… read a few pages from my book…and for the first time in days…I was able to read without even one little guy…landing on my page.

So there you have it….another battle won…another enemy zapped!!!…Small as a fruit fly may be…when one turns into hundreds…it becomes impossible to ignore…So if you ever see one of those pretty glass bug catcher gadgets…and wonder if it does anything more that look nice…think of me and my battle…and if you are thinking…hmmm…should I buy it???…DO!!!…You never know if or when you may need a battle plan like me.

****************************************************************************************************************************

more from my collection….

