The weather outside is not really frightful….however…it is November …and here in Manitoba…it will very soon be just that …frightful…and along with  it will come our very first snowfall…followed  soon after with the holidays….

 

Frightful…yes…Manitoba’s winters can be a bit frightful…the bitter cold , snow and ice….the slippery roads…sometimes covered with black ice…the plugging in of our cars…the worry of getting your tongue stuck to  metal ….snow that is so cold it won’t hold together to even make a snowball… high heat bills…and the layers and layers of clothing one has to put on…and then there is the fear of freezing your next bottle of beer…yes…frightful it is!!!

And each year….along with the cold…. comes the never-ending concern…Fashion??..Warmth??…Fashion??…Warmth???…comes to the forfront…It seems almost impossible to achieve both …here…. during the winter months!!!

When I first moved to this “Siberia of North America” as I used to call it…having come from the east coast…and being young and foolish…fashion was important…yes it was cold I would tell myself…but that is no reason to throw fashion out the window…so ….fashion it was…I would see people dashing around …covered from head to toe in all sorts of coverings…and … for a number of years…ok..ok…a decade or so…I never quite got it…I would look at  people …they were everywhere…covered with every type of headgear…boots and handwear…and scarves….It seemed that winter brought out all the overweight population in Manitoba….and I never thought  to ask  about it ???…

So day after day …I  would don my fashionable winter attire…and go on my merry way….I had frozen toes and fingers on a daily basis and just assumed…so did everybody else…and I would wonder…why are they all here????….Life is much more difficult in this icy location….Could it be that after so many years…one just doesn’t feel the cold anymore???…or…could it be that …after living in this “Siberia”…for enough years…your body chemistry will just adapt…kind of like a form of evolution???…Did I just have to live in this place long enough to allow my body to evolve????  …Hmmmm…

And then the day came when…for whatever the reason…the light bulb went on…CLICK.!!!!..and I finally took a good look at the situation….hmmm…everyone’s coat closets were packed with outerwhere…even when mine was the only extra coat hanging…and there were always…boxes of scarves and hats and mitts…even in if it was just the home of two people…and the socks…I began to notice…unlike the thin black socks I had on my feet… friends  who came to visit… were wearing wool or some sort of very thick socks.  How had I never noticed this before???…Why had no one ever commented about my lack of warm winter wear????….And…wasn’t I cold???…politeness maybe…Or maybe they did question me on my attire and I just chose to not hear???

Anyway…that next winter I went shopping…I bought a nice “down” filled  coat…some warm socks…lots of them…some long johns…that’s what I said…long  johns…leather mitts along with  scarves and wool hats…When the snow and cold came that year…I was going to be ready for it…and I was… It may have taken a while for it to finally sink into my brain…but I finally got it….Yes…with the proper clothing…and lots of it on…a person can actually be warm in the freezing cold….I finally realized that  at …4’10 “…100 lbs …even I  could  look obese …I finally realized that with the proper attire…a person can actually  break a sweat…while outside… in the middle of January!!!  Who would have known….

Yes….I might have had to sacrifice fashion…but after all those years of frozen appendages…I no longer cared … all I wanted was to be warm!!! ….Maybe …instead of getting a job as a Wal-Mart greeter  (which I am embarrassed to say I did think about…for a few seconds)…maybe I could be the “…. The Winter Weather Greeter” and take on the task of coaching new comers to …what NOT TO WEAR in Manitoba’s winters!!!!…  I have to admit…I do have many  years of experience in knowing how NOT to dress for the cold!!!!!…It would be nice to think …all those years I froze…were not all in vain…but rather… to help others.

There is something to be said for that old addage…..”When in Rome…do as the Romans do”

____________________________________________________________________________

Ahhh…Rome…..This was all made from bread.

