May you never forget what is worth remembering, nor ever remember what is best forgotten

 Irish Blessings

I am reading a book …called..”The Know -it-All…one man’s humble quest to become the smartest person in the world….It  is about a man …A.J. Jacobs…who decided to read the encyclopedia Britannica from A-Z…something his father began but was never able to finish.  My good friend Larry…gave it to me…he thought I might enjoy reading it…

First off…I will admit once again…I am not the biggest reader…I would much rather spend my time writing or making puppets or quilting…sorry Larry…However….over the past few weeks…I have been driving a friend to her therapy sessions…and so…while I wait… I thought I might at least try reading it…and …To my surprise I am finding it quite funny and always look  forward to my next read.

A.J. Jacobs talks about once being the smartest person he knew…but how since college…he began to take a long, slow slide into dumbness…how at age 35…he has become embarrassingly ignorant!!!..I can’t speak for you …but I can attest to …yes…taking a slow slide into …maybe not dumbness…but for sure…. less smartness..

 

It has  made me think about knowledge….how much we are taught…how little we remember….yes… how much we forget….I got to thinking about all those things I used to know  so well…like…the genus and species of animals..or was it  plants???…the names of all the states in the US and their capitols…I was able to recite parts of the Declaration of Independence by heart and the beginning to the Gettysberg Address… (I grew up in the US of A) …..and at one point in my life…I could actually speak French and English…and was hired into a bilingual position for the govenment!!!…Hard to believe some days.

Discipline is remembering what you want.

 David Campbell

As I read the pages of …The Know it All…I am reminded  of …all the information I have  learned  through the years…all the information I once HAD  to know…to get through the day….and …all the information I no longer remember…the forgotten stuff…but in reality… the information I actually …no longer need…. Maybe we haven’t really forgotten information….is it possible  that our brain’s…information “pop up” feature is just turned off????…

Well that may very well be ……but if so…there are days that I  wish there was a help desk  out there….One I could call … that  could tell  me how ….to turn it back on !!!!

 Now here is a scary thought…what if …just imagine…tomorrow… there was no internet…POOF!!!…it just disappeared!!! ….We might just all go out and buy the latest edition of the encyclopedia Britanica….and we might also decide to read it from cover to cover….Too much reading for you???

Well consider this…. Could it be possible… that…if a person were to add up …all the pages they have read over the years….on the computer…emails, internet sites ,etc….might it equal …the 32,900 pages of the Britanica….Do you think????

_____________________________________________________________________________________

My pop up feature may not be on …but I didn’t forget…Rememberance Day is almost here. It is never too early…or too late for us to remember the men and women who have , are, and will continue to ensure our freedom….

THANKS to every one of you….

Remember to get and wear your poppy …. show your support.

