Have you ever thought about being alone in a dark place???….How about being alone in and elevator that has stopped ..and is dark???…

That is just the conversation I had this week with some friends of mine….We were all chatting …when all of a sudden …the lights in the room went out and suddenly we found ourselves in total darkness…Ok..ok…there was a window on one side of the room…but just the same..for all intents and purposes…it was dark…The lights were out for only a few seconds…and when they blinked back on….that is when the conversation turned….

Elevators became the topic of interest…getting stuck in one …a non moving…dark one…all alone… to be exact…It seems that a number of women NEVER wanted to find themselves in such a spot..but now..who really does…anyway…they told me they would “FREAK OUT” to be exact…and it seems that claustrophobia would cause some of them to begin to hyperventalate!!!…My question to them was..”How do you handle getting a CT scan or MRI?”…and most of them have never had one and one person told us that if she HAD to have a scan…she  would have to be put  out first!!! .

Now I must say…I have never been stuck in a dark, stopped elevator…but…I don’t think I would feel clostraphobic…How about you???.,..I have had many scans and my biggest problem is staying awake!!!

I do believe …thinking about it…being stuck in an elevator …that is….My biggest concern would be…What if my body decided it had to go!!! …and no bathroom!!!????…I suppose I could  make a habit of visiting the bathroom before I ever enter an elevator….that would be a proactive  decision.

So…I thought it might be good to come up with a list of things

Items to always keep in your purse or pocket if you are ever stuck in an elevator…

.flashlight, tissue, candy/granola bar

Things  you can  do next time you are  stuck in an elevator…

  1. Remain calm and walk around the perimeter of the elevator car…touching the walls with your hands….there might be a phone
  2. Yell for help as loud as possible for a few minutes , band on the door and listen for a response
  3. Find a corner and sit down…you may be there for a while
  4. If you have a coat on…take it off , fold it up and use it for a pillow to sit on…you may be there for a while
  5. If you are a good singer…go ahead and sing…it will help you pass the time and someone might  hear you.
  6. if you are a bad , bad singer…go ahead and sing…it will help you pass the time , someone may hear you ,this may be the only time you can belt out your favourite song and your skills will not be judged
  7. If you really have to relieve yourself…just do it…but don’t …no matter what…forget where that spot is!!!
  8. Get up and walk around the elevator every half  hour or so to keep your circulation going.
  9. Do some stretching exercises..you know…the ones you haven’t had the time to do lately.
  10. Yell again for help and bang on the door.
  11. If all of that fails…take out your cell phone and call someone.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

   Here is another collection…People painted into the background…..

