Local municipal elections in Manitoba are now over…the winners have been decided….congrats to all who put their names in the hat and good luck to those who won…

I have never run for… or campaigned for… any significant positions over  the past five/six  decades…How about you????…Not to say I haven’t held any positions…because I have. ..I have been president, vice, secretary, chairs of numerous committees over the years…I suppose I could fool myself into thinking that I was such a strong contender …that no one else dare try to compete…but alas…that would be a lie…the truth of the matter is…no one else put their name in because…no one else wanted the job.

So why me???…Why did I put my name in all those times???…Hard to really know.  I do believe that when I was in my 20’s and 30’s… I did it to gain skills…and in some strange way it gave me some positive reinforment…and…who am I kidding… it did look good on my résumé!! 

Do you like competition???….Not me…It has never been my thing

…since I was a kid….Always being the smallest one in the group has meant…being the last one to be chosen when the neighborhood kids played team games…and usually…only to even up the sides…You see…I never learned how to compete in  baseball or football or any team sport for that matter…because…the ball never came to me…I remember standing in the outfield with my glove out to catch a ball and before I knew it…someone taller put their arm out and got it first. When I look back though….I do believe I was just so very happy to be on a team…Maybe being picked last had nothing to do with my height….but rather…my inabilities!!!  Maybe I  was just lousy at it…Oh well…it is much more comforting …to think it was the height thing.

Anyway…I digress…Our town now has a new Mayor , Town Council and School Board. and I give them credit for throwing their names in the hat….Not a lot of people would…. 

Someone just told me of an analogy…relating to elections….I suppose it is one way to look at t…and it goes like this…Imagine the candidates are like a bunch of frogs in a pail….each frog trying to scale the sides of the pail to  get out…but …the problem is …. they are all trying to  get out…. and they begin to jump up the sides …but  in the end …only a few escape the pail…How you may ask??? …Well….There are the ones who jump first and are able to hang on…but before they know it they are jumped on by another frog and another….unknowingly ….making a ladder for the remaining  frogs to easily (win) escape…Hmmmm….now that is an interesting visual…don’t you think????

Frogs and Candidates…Pails and Election Campagning…Now I know why I don’t like competitions…Who really  wants a pile of frogs jumping on their backs?????

 

 

____________________________________________

One more collection item….see if you can find the person painted into the backround…Read below for a bit about the artist…

The artist is a  man who skillfully paints himself so that he so closely resembles his surroundings that he appears to be virtually invisible. No digital manipulation and indeed a number of self-proclaimed experts have already dismissed them as being “photoshopped”.However, the images are in fact genuine photographs depicting the work of clever Chinese artist Liu Bolin. .  Mr Bolin is a perfectionist who can take up to ten hours to ready himself for photographs of his performances.

…people walking by while he is carrying out his performance often have no idea he is nearby until he moves away. Liu said he wanted to show how city surroundings affected people living in them .

 

 

 

