I like to do all the talking myself. It saves time, and prevents arguments. Oscar Wilde

Yes….I am a talker…in fact I really like to talk…it is kind of like a pastime such as  reading or stamp collecting… I suppose when someone asks me my hobbies…along with writing and quilting…I should say…talking…But the question is now…do I talk too much????

I used to be one of those people who filled in those moments of silence…I used to actually find it painful …NOT TO fill in those moments….Anybody who has taken on that responsibility will attest to the fact that…it is had work.  You have to be always alert to the conversation …you have to be quick on your feet to be able to fill in the silence …with something more than ..”Sure is cold outside”.

Many of you have no idea that taking on that role…the role of silence breaker…. requires  a person to… always be always on…to  be interesting and witty when possible. It is a demanding and mentally trying  role to play and one day I decided …I had had enough of that…I was going to become the listener..It was about time that someone else rise to the occasion (or conversion as it may be) and fill in the dead air…  So I decided to relax…be quiet…and just watch.  There were times when the silence was excruciatingly  painful for  me  and I do believe I actually held my hand over my lips so as not to let slip…one little morsel of a word…and I wondered if  others were thinking……why the silence???

Were they uncomfortable now???…Did they even realize I had shut up????

This new found role of mine was actually very relaxing and became easier and easier to master….Well…maybe master is pushing it a bit…however…I was actually capable of quietness.  Now…maybe that is all I needed to know…that I had the ability to shut up.

But I must admit…just lately…both a friend and my husband…very politely…let me know to …”Shut Up”…and it was then that I realized that although in  group settings…I can now be quiet….there are times …with one to one conversations….that I just have so much to say about a topic that  my brain’s   “speech…and control” areas …must  have been severed….There are times that….before I have a chance to  think…. words slip right off my lips…and like the waters of Niagara Falls….and there is just no stopping them unless someone gives me a shake..

It is collection time…the following posts will have photos of people painted into the scenery or backround…..you have to look very carefully as some of them are difficult to see….here is the first….

 

 

 

Well I guess no one can be perfect and when you have a hobby like talking…. the bad thing about it is  ….it can’t be done all alone like reading or stamp collecting.

