Yes, he’s my brother…my brother whom I just spent considerable time on the phone with this afternoon.  Our talks are never short and usually way too far apart…and so are we…geographically speaking ….that is.

When we talk it doesn’t seem that we are thousands of miles away…but we are. When we talk it doesn’t seem like it has been months since our last chat…but is usually has been.  And the same goes for my sisters…miles apart are we.

I moved from my U.S. roots….long ago and have not had the pleasure of having my siblings as part of my daily life for many years now…and I sometimes wonder if we would talk/see each other more often than we do now…if we all lived in closer proximity each other….I wonder if our relationships would be different and how…I wonder what kind of adult sibling rivalry there might be between us. Would we really see each other more often???  Or would we…knowing we can get together at anytime…NOT??

Many years ago my siblings keep encouraging me to …GET A COMPUTER…so we could stay in contact more often. We finally broke down and got one and now …I could not live without it.  So where were those emails from them they led me to expect often.???  The truth is…do we email much???   I used to send a weekly email to them…and I got the occasional one back…..Now it is hit and miss and I have a very  different email relationship with each of them….sounds kind of funny…email relationship…but yes…that is the truth.

My life is full of email relationships now…and the phone???   Well, like today…my brother’s birthday…I DID pick up the phone and actually spoke to him….and what fun that was.  I must use that contraption more often.  Often when I send an email , I could have as easily picked up the phone….the problem is…I just don’t think of it.

How about you….do you have email relationships???  No, no…I am not talking about THOSE kinds of relationships…but rather…ones you used to have… more so on the phone.   When you need to tell someone something…what do you think of first…email …or the phone????

 

 

