AAAhhhh…..Yes.  My book reading event on Sept 25th has been cancelled.  A different McNally Robinson event is in the works and I will tell you about it once I have the info.

But now…circles. I am sure you have all been sitting on pins and needles just waiting to find out what all those circles are…so here we go…Sept 12 post….contact lens fluid top with security seal still on, battery, toothpaste top, thimble, camera lens, door knob.  And on Sept 14 th post….end of cork, backing to a stud earing, button and last but not least, toilet paper.   Did you guess any of them correctly???

“There are only two kinds of people who are really
fascinating: people who know absolutely everything, and people
who know absolutely nothing.”

— Oscar Wilde

If you think about it…most of us don’t know absolutely everything…and we don’t know absolutely nothing…so what does that mean???  None of us are really fascinating people???  And if none of us are  really fascinating people…who really is???  Or maybe there are no really fascinating people.   Fascinating yes…but really fascinating????

So if none of us are really  fascinating….what makes us at least ….fascinating??? 

The dictionary says…by being… captivating, engaging, gripping, compelling, intriguing, very interesting, irresistible, enticing, enchanting, seductive, riveting, alluring, bewitching, ravishing, engrossing
 
So that  has me wondering about the opposite of fascination….boring, dull, uninteresting, mind numbing, unexciting, drab, blah.  I suppose there are times when we are all boring…yes, yes…boring!  And there are probably times when we are pretty drab and unexciting.  Who, me??? you say….yes you…yes me.!!!  What an awful thought…to be mind numbing in others eyes…but it can happen.
 
Have you ever met a fascinating person???  What is it that fascinated you about them???  I suppose it could be something they have done..or the way they look …or even the way they talk…maybe even the way they listen.  I suppose it could be just about anything. I suppose a person can be fascinating  for  a moment or possibly …even years.  Are we all fascinated by the same people…or …is it different for each of us. 
       

I knew that I had come face to face with someone whose mere personality was so fascinating that, if I allowed it to do so, it would absorb my whole nature, my whole soul, my very art itself.”

 Oscar Wilde

 

Now here is something fascinating!!!

