I was thrilled when I was invited to be a part of kid’s storytime at CBC Radio’s open house event in September.  I  checked out a few puppet making sites and decided to get my puppet of Sam …done… to bring with me on that day…so I have been a bit distracted from the computer. Making a puppet head out of foam is kind of fun and I spent most of today working on a few.

William Stafford

These days it seems I am often  distracted …so does that mean … I am more the person that I am???  And if so…what exactly does that mean???   And if it means …I am not lost…but rather…found….I suppose to continue to be distracted is a good thing…I guess with each distraction I am becoming more…ME….and the more I am distracted…the me-er me I  become….so…bring on the distractions!!! 

Is this the secret to “Finding one’s self”?? …becoming the real you??? …becoming the youest you… you can be???

I suppose a distraction CAN be a good thing…it can help you take your mind off of a worry…or it can give you something different to do…or it can take you away from something you don’t want to do.  But…there are days when a distraction becomes so encompassing that a person can forget to finish the wash…or… forget something in the microwave….or I lose complete track of time…even forget to have lunch. 

Somebody was distracted…OUCH !

Have you ever been distracted from a distraction???   Happens to me all the time.  I don’t really know any more what really IS a distraction as I can some days… be distracted from something ….and minutes later be distracted again …and before that is done I find myself…again…distracted.  Makes it difficult some days to get anything finished unless I set a timer to jolt me out my distractions.

Just like right now…I was working on my puppet head…walked by the computer to go get something…and now here I am …and my puppet waits.  Ahhh…distracted again. But now I am going to make a conscious decision to return to Sam and leave the writing till tomorrow…or the next day…or???

There are times when even the tiniest distraction would NOT be a good thing.

