You are currently browsing the daily archive for July 20, 2010.

  

What a tiny little creature...are you smiling yet????

 

There are days when no matter how hard I think…I just can’t come up with a place to begin my daily blog….And then there are other days when my mind is jumping around and I have difficulty choosing one topic…Well…today is neither of those because I saw a photo the other day and knew right away it would be my topic today….it was a picture of …The Yellow Brick Road!! 

 
You may be thinking ….what can a person write about ..The Yellow Brick Road????…For me those 4 words make me immediately think about the classic movie…The Wizard Of OZ…1939 film…I first watched when I was very young…and have watched  once a year for decades…In fact.. I think I can safely say….I know all the words and songs by heart…ding dong the witch is dead !!!
 
Well I found out yesterday that …yes…the is a real …Yellow Brick Road !!!  Unfortunatly I saved the photos but not the name of the town where this road is…
 
The words…Yellow Brick Road…have been used…by many…
Goodbye Yellow Brick Road…album by Elton John
Yellow Brick Road….costume clothing store in West Virginia
Yellow Brick Road …bookstore
Yellow Brick Road ….restaurant
Yellow Brick Road…real estate
and so on and so on….
 
The Yellow Road refers to a state of transition from various traits and ideas which converge  
unheadingly onto a single fixed path towards a final summit that can only be sensed.

So….does that mean that if a person walks a  yellow brick road …they are not walking at all…but rather…experiencing something internal???…Is it a journey of the mind and not the body???…Is the destination not a place but rather a feeling????…..Do we all follow a yellow brick road…and do our travels on this golden road bring us to a new mental state??? 

In the case of Dorothy…her travels brought her physically back to exactly where she began..home…however…in having those yellow brick road travels…she found herself  …now….so very content to be there…. 

Want to get the gossip on Kansas , Connecticut (my home state) and the The Wizard of Oz/Yellow Brick Road controversy ????        http://www.stormtrack.org/archive/1016.htm 

This post I am dedicating to my older sister Sharon…who spoke of the Wizard of Oz at my wedding reception…and to my mom who always told the two of us about how she was chosen to play the part of Dorothy in her highschool …Wizard of Oz… play.  

_____________________________________________________ 

Here is an interesting item from recycled materials….a chair made from sharpened pencils….OUCH!!! 

.

 

     

  • 86,455 hits

Not a wordpress user??? Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog ..get emails to new posts

Join 274 other subscribers
The Blog Farm
Humorous/Funny Quote Funny Quotes

posts

July 2010
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Talk Radio…happiness

View Sally Gilchrest-Unrau's profile on FiledBy

quilting …for applique lovers