Ohhh...so that's what a graphic novel is!!!

____________________________________________________

Tonight I just returned from a workshop about writing and illustrating graphic novels. Not knowing exactly what a graphic novel was…I thought  it might be interesting and that it was time for me to get out there and hear what other writers had to share…and so I signed up.

The workshop was facilitated by  ….  Manitoba Book Award nominees JOHN TOONE and GMB CHOMICHUK  (Imagination Manifesto). I found a seat and  watched as the room filled with a bunch of young guys and girls … all of a sudden I was feeling a bit out of place….and then I found out that  graphic novels are comics…..All I could think was…what am I doing here????…..but…having driven for an hour and a half to get there I thought … surely I would be able to learn something.

And I did! ….The two facilitators tonight were quite fun to listen to and extremely motivating in their presentation. The two hours flew by … by the end of the workshop… I had come up with a …slug line…for my next Sam book….  Marketing….they had lots to share about how they market their books…and  talked about being versatile in your approach with your work…be open to PR opportunities….and said how people need to hear of you and your work at least 14 times or so if you want to be remembered…Publicity…any publicity is good publicity …is their thinking…which seems to have worked for them.

For an evening in which at first…I felt I had walked into the wrong room…by the end… I was pumped and looking forward to the second half of it …next week…Well worth the drive for sure….and a workshop I for one would recommend to others.

As it is after midnight…I will sign off right here. Till tomorrow…..Sally

____________________________________________________

How is this for an interesting addition to my virtual collection of weird  facial hair????

