Smiling yet???

It was raining again last night…yes!!!   But I have decided to sing anyway…I can picture in my mind the scene from the musical with Gene Kelly singing ….I’m Singing in the rain….as he tap danced up and down the curb of a street …right through the puddles…and if I remember correctly…he was holding an umbrella as he danced.

In Manitoba we talk about the weather all the time…too cold…too hot…too wet…too dry…too humid…. I can understand if you are a farmer as the weather affects your work drastically…or if you have no car and thus walk everywhere…but it is difficult to understand exactly why just the normal person on the street finds it such a necessary…a required  topic of conversation…

I suppose some might tell you that to dress appropriately they must know the weather…or…if they want to do outside activities the weather is important…That all makes sense…but why do we have to talk about it all the time???….Is it that we have nothing else to say??…Could it be just a  habit???…or maybe we just like to obsess over the one thing for sure we cannot control???

Someone once told me …on a holiday…when they were visiting …I can’t remember where…in the US I think…anyway… They said that they asked a person who lived there…”So…what’s the weather supposed to be like tomorrow???…with a response of…”Why would you ask such a question?…Why do you care about tomorrow’s weather???”

It seems that there are places were weather is NOT a topic of converssation…I wonder…is that because the weather never changes there???…or …is it because they have other , more pressing thoughts to think???…Do Manitobans obsess too much over the weather???…Should we rethink??

I suppose when you live in a place where the temperatures go from -30 c  (-25 f) in the winter to + 35 (90 f) c in the summer…maybe we

Laughing in the rain...me and Michelle.

 have good reason to obsess…when in June you could be wearing shorts and a tank top one day and jeans and a fleecy the next…I suppose we do need to have an inkling of what the day’s weather might be…that makes sense…but must we talk about it so much??…I think I can comment on this…as….I am as guilty as the next person.

I wonder if it is possible for me NOT to talk about the weather???…Hmmm…now there is a challenge if ever I heard of one….However…if any of my friends read this…will they…the next time I see them…try to get me to talk about the weather ???…Would I be able to redirect a conversation AWAY from the weather???…This may become a bigger challenge than I thought…but you know what they say…one step for man (me)…a giant step for mankind!!! ..I am ready….no more talking about …you know what.

Bad habits are like a comfortable bed, easy to get into, but hard to get out of.

Ok now…here I am also writing about IT…!!!…Not going to get fooled into even writing another word about IT …So I will leave IT…I will try not to talk about IT…I will try to be a good example and find other things to talk and write …about other than IT. Wow…how exactly did I get here???…It was  just a fleeting thought …just something to write about…and now it will be far from fleeting as I will be thinking about IT all the time…every time I go to open my mouth and talk.

______________________________________

Here is an interesting ODD COUPLE…….

Wonder where he's going with the dog???

