I have no idea what these little guys are called...but are they ever cute. Look like little monkeys!

Approval-consent, agreement, sanction, licence, blessing, permission, endorsement, green light, validation, authorization, the go ahead
Everyday  we are often seeking approval…approval of our work…approval of our looks…approval of our cooking…approval of our opinions…yes…we all are seeking approval in some way. It is most interesting when  YOU are the one who is put in the position of GIVING your approval.  When I think about it….we probably spend more effort in seeking…than giving our approval…why is that???

Today I gave …the go ahead, the approval  on  my audio book..it is now  finalized and once the audio approval form is in…the audio will be accessable to all who bought  my Sam adventure. I think you will enjoy…the voice of Sam. 

 It seems there have been many approval forms to sign off on this past year….illustrations, book cover, design, conceptual edits, basic edits, finished  book and now the audio.  One last item will be the book trailer.

On Sam’s audio book….Sean…the voice of Sam …and I… spent the week working together on it.  Well, mostly Sean did all the work…I just did my regular comment and correction emails…..There was one last little thing that needed to be corrected before I could approve it…. well actually….one NOT so little thing…my name!!!..my name  needed to be pronounced correctly! I almost was about to let it go but then I thought to myself  ” You will be sorry”. And so the I did my best to be tactful and the emails began to fly.

Sally and Gilchrest were no problem for my audio guy…but …Unrau….seemed to be a bit difficult. I was not surprised…through the years my husband and I have heard our last name pronounced in many strange ways… the worst was at a car rental business…the man called us Mr. and Mrs. Urine!!  Now how he got urine out of Unrau we will never know.  But this week … Sean the audio staff at Tate …after a number of emails from me….  got it perfect.

First  Unrau was pronounced ……Un-row…(.like now)… first syllable correct, second not…..and then it was ….Une( like tune)-ruh…first syllable wrong, second syllable correct….until finally…. I told him…..Un (sounds like bun)  rau (sounds like huh,duh) ..and this morning I received an audio that had everything  just perfect!!!  So with approval form signed, I will fax it off today.

Throughout the publishing of my book …without realizing…in a way….I became  an editor, an art and audio  critic, a teacher, and more.  Not only did I have to look at my work with a fine tooth comb…I also had to critique it and the work of the staff on my team….yes a team. The team was made up of  staff at  Tate Publishing  …Kurt, Liz, Sean, Amanda, Stacey, Mark, Melissa, Rachael, Lauren, Ashley, Dave, Sara..( I hope I got them all)…So you can see that publishing a book by a traditional publishing house is …for sure…a team effort.  I have been fortunate to have a WONDERFUL team to work with.

And so…I am ready to give another green lite…another approval form signed and another publishing step is now over. And so….to market…to market…to buy a fat pig…no…no..no…to sell a kid’s book. Three more book engagements coming up. I think I will have to wait till Sept to visit any local schools as  they will be closed in a few weeks and my schedule is as busy as I want it to be right now.

Have you given your approval to or for something today…this week???? .

Ahhh…..the life of a published author….pretty amazing so far.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Here is one more interesting candle in my latest collection….

a giant candle in the shape of leggo.

