Do you own something that to you is most valuable…but others would see no value in it at all???  Do you own something that you value very little …although in dollars …the item would be considered very valuable??

Today I got thinking about value as I quietly worked in my craft/writing room. Then  I noticed a set of 2 black frames , on the top shelf of the closet in that room and I decided to take them out and use them. They have been used many times in the past for many things…for framing pictures…pretty fabric…an art creation and more.  But today I realized that I had finally found something very special, something of real value,  to put in those frames, and that , most likely, they would never again be changed.

 Things only have the value that we give them.             Moliere 1622-1673

So…that got me thinking and wondering …What is it that makes something valuable ???? … I am sure there are those who find value in items only if they are very pricey…and there are those who find value in items that belonged to someone they loved and lost…and then…I am sure some people value an item because of how long they have owned it….and I am sure there are those who value items only if they have a use. 

I can’t change the fact that my paintings don’t sell. But the time will come when people will recognize that they are worth more than the value of the paints used in the picture.  Vincent van Gogh

We all find value in things for many different reasons. Well for me …today I was framing something of much value to me…Yes, Yes…I am going to tell you….it is my first Book Royalty check!!!…The amount on the check could not compare to what the check itself actually represents…my writing…my book…and the wonderful adventure I have been on. I think if I cashed it in, I would soon be sorry I did not keep it .  Sometimes value is in really….what an item represents.

Nowadays, people know the price of everything and the value of nothing.

Oscar Wilde

 

I wonder how many things of value we miss in our daily lives???…Yes…we have become very adept at knowing  the price of many things…but are we as knowledgeable about knowing value when we see it????…Well…I feel lucky today that I recognized value before I let it slip through my fingers and into my bank account.

 

How about you ??? …have you recognized  something of value today… before it slipped away????

__________________________________________________________________________________________

I am needing some ideas for new collections and would love any idea you may have.   I have done hats and shoes and nails and hearts and toilets .  If you have any thoughts …interesting, weird , wacky…all I need is one good idea and I will collect and share .

Thanks for reading!!!

 

 

 

 

