Timing is everything in competitions, in cooking, in driving, in stand up comedy, with heart attacks etc.

However …today I want to muse about timing in life…..

Have you ever heard these phrases….” I am not ready yet.”…or …” I’m waiting for the right time.”…or…”When we have enough  money.”…or …”When we have more time.”. ????

I am pretty confident that you have not only heard these words….but are guilty of saying them yourself…like me.

So it got me to thinking about….how does one ever know…. When ready IS…or When is the RIGHT time…or When the money is Enough…or When they have ENOUGH  time????…Do we really want to plan out our lives???….Can we control the timing of events???…Is timing really everything??

 

Maybe….the right time  or enough money or  enough time or being ready…has more to do with  a person’s mental state….than it does anything else.  A person can be ready for just about anything…at anytime…if they decide to be.

You cannot afford to wait for perfect conditions. Goal setting is often a matter of balancing timing against available resources. Opportunities are easily lost while waiting for perfect conditions.   

 Gary Ryan Blair

If we thought about it…how many times have we been put into situations that we did not plan on being in… only to really enjoy the experience???….What does that have to do with timing???….Yes, after the fact you may say to yourself….what good timing that was…but is because …. it  fit into your life so perfectly???…or that you allowed it to do so????

Now, I will agree….there can be such a thing as BAD timing….for example….a person could get into an accident because they just happened to be at a certain intersection  at a certain moment. Or…you can burn the cake if you do not watch the time.Yes..in these cases…timing is everything!!

But I am talking about timing in a broader sense..I do believe that sometimes….Waiting for the perfect time…can be another way of saying…I don’t really want that???  For example…I’m just not ready to get married….can really means…I don’t want to marry YOU.   Or the statement….Let’s wait to have children until we can afford it…really meaning…I don’t want to have kids…or if you have something to tell a loved one and you say to yourself….I will tell him when the time is right…you really mean …I am afraid to tell him…so I’ll wait.

How often do people use …timing ….as an  excuse for NOT doing something. Either because they don’t want to or are afraid to??

So …what about opportunities that cross our paths and timing ???…How do we know if we should take them or not???…How do we know if it is the right time to go down a path??…Is there really a right time and how would we ever really know???

“”There comes a time when one must risk something or sit forever with ones dreams””

 trevor petersen

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

For the super hero in you....

