Life’s Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late.
Benjamin Franklin

Being an author is tough work. Not only do you have to write a story and get it published some how…you also have to be ready for the onslaught of interesting questions and comments  that may come your way once your book is out….Here are some that I have been asked…. 

  • Where did you get your inspiration from?
  • Sam…how did you come up with him as your character?
  • When will we be seeing another Sam adventure?
  • Is this a sequel? Will there be a sequel?
  • Maybe you will get on TV… on Oprah?
  • Maybe there will be a movie about Sam?
  • Who did the illustrations for you?
  • When did you start writing?
  • Remember me when you become famous..OK?
  • Are you making money yet?
  • What have you learned about the process?
  • What has been the most difficult part of it all?

I am usually decently  quick on my feet…but this is a whole new experience…and some of these caught me off guard..some surprised me…..but I think I have developed my repertoire of answers for if and when I need them. Will there be more??…Will I be ready for them???I sure hope so. 

And book signing… although it can be fun…. it can as well be a bit stressful…. So far… I have a collection of  three Sam  books …that will be mine to keep. You see, I have made the mistake of spelling a few names wrong. …Now that is a faux pas for sure. But with the hustle and bustle of people all around…whew…the simplish task can become daunting. So now…I always have a pad beside me when signing and make sure to write the name down on the page… prior to writing it in the book so I  get the spelling correct….It is amazing some of the names I have had to write. 

This is such an interesting, fun, challenging,  learning experience…Don’t they say we learn best from our mistakes???…if so…I am going to be a very wise old women at this rate. 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

The musician's toilet

