June 5th..

2:00 at McNally Robinson Book store at Grant Park Mall

 Winnipeg Book Launch for …

Sam’s Weird Afternoon…

by Sally Gilchrest-Unrau  – Tate Publishing

mark the date on your calendar…Hank and I would love to see you there.

_____________________________________________________________

Etiquette means behaving yourself a little better than is absolutely essential. ~ Will Cuppy

For some strange reason today I got to thinking about etiquette. When I was a little girl s my mother must have tried to teach my sister and I… proper etiquette. I don’t think I thought about it much then…but it is now …when I go to place the forks , knives and spoons on the table …or when I sip a glass of something and I make a slurping sound …that I think about it…and I can hear my mom’s voice.

Is etiquette …behaving a little better than is absolutely necessary???…and if it is …what is really necessary???

So that made me start to think about behaviors we do that could be labeled …proper etiquette.   Table settings of course,…no elbows on the table… not eating with your mouth full… drink  from a straw quietly…and how about not turning your plate once it is set down.  Now what is that all about??? …I think of my mom… if ever I go to  turn my plate at mealtime…and I never turn it if at a restaurant or a guest at a friends home……I remember her teaching me that…but…to this day…I don’t know the reason for it.

There there is the …wearing white gloves and a hat to church on Sundays…when  wearing a dress, always cross your legs…or…..never take the last piece of food if you have guests over…always say please and thank you…and never speak until spoken to…which some would say is very old-fashioned but I might argue with you on that one.

Do you at times… behave…just a little better than is necessary???…Who do you have to thank for that???

For me…it’s my mom…She is no longer alive but I would like to think she can hear me …so….Thanks Mom.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

And now…my last collection was of fruits or veggies that are in weird shapes.

This next one will be a fun one… Check it out each day, I am sure some of them will make you laugh. Tomorrow I will tell you what the collection is of. 

