“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.                                         

You can steer yourself any direction you choose.

 You’re on your own. And you know what you know.

 And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”

Dr. Seuss

You may have already figured out that I love Dr. Seuss. His nonsense says it all …at least I think so. His use of rhyming words is wonderful!. I believe his words speak to both children and adults alike.

I have spent hours…writing lists of rhyming words for my stories ….and let me tell you…it is not an easy task. Just for fun I tried an interesting thing….

I found a list of rhyming words from a few years ago in one of my writing binders. I was taking words that adults use and comparing them to a child’s vocabulary….just for fun….here it is…

kids will  staple- we colate…kids will argue-we debate…kids will leave-we evacuate…they will change-we deviate……children sell-we liquidate…kids will use-we operate…Kids say it’s  pretty-we say it’s ornate…kids call them apes- we call them primates…they will read -but we narate…when kids say  spin-we say  rotate…they will pee- we urinate…kids will  copy-we  duplicate…they grow seeds -we cultivate……kids days  end-  ours terminate…they oil their bikes-adults lubricate….kids will  think-we concentrate…kids say shake-we say agitate…children ruin-we decimate…kids will show-we indicate…they will talk- we communicate…… and children mix- adults integrate.

Here is another  list I found….of  some more words that just rhyme…..animate, donate, deflate, dictate, elevate, educate, graduate, hesitate, celebrate, dominate, isolate, liberate, mediate, pulsate, radiate, situate, recreate, violate, vacinate, aluminate, arbitrate, associate, placate, cooperate, dislocate, facinate, hibernate, humiliate, infatuate, insinuate, medicate, manipulate, negotiate, originate, penetrate, perolate.  

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

