Burn the candle at both ends …To live at a hectic pace.

Success…how do we measure success???  I am feeling pretty successful right now after selling and signing many books…but is there a difference between  FEELING success and actually HAVING success???…How is success measured???…Is success a matter of meeting our expectations??…If that is so….we can all be successful…just lower our expectations!!

I have no idea what the average sale of a new children’s book might be.  I have no idea if I should be feeling success. I suppose you could compare it to the athletic events my husband had competed in for decades. He always said he was not in it to try to win the event but rather to try to beat his own time.   I think I should look at book sales that way as well….compare it only to my past sales…not anyone elses. 

Success…
Success has a simple formula: do your best, and people may like it.

Sam Ewing

Right now I am a bit tired from the long days sitting and talking and signing books and I realize I am going to have to pace myself just like one would do for an athletic event. I don’t want to burn myself out before I get to the mile one marker.  I can see how easy that would be cause at first the adrenaline is pumping and it would be so easy to run the race too fast too early.

Sam and my book are going to be with me for the long haul and I need to keep reminding myself of that. Pace, pace, pace.  What would be great is to have a pacing car to keep me on  a comfortable pace.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

