Launch…

1.  To throw or propel with force; hurl: launch a spear.b. To set or thrust (a self-propelled craft or projectile) in motion: launch a rocket; launch a torpedo 3. To set going; initiate: launch a career; launch a business venture. 4. To introduce to the public or to a market: launched the new perfume with prime-time commercials on the major networks.5. To give (someone) a start, as in a career or vocation. … To begin a new venture or phase; embark: launch forth on a dangerous mission; launched out on her own after college… To enter enthusiastically into something; plunge: launched into a description of the movie.

Tomorrow is the big day….the LAUNCH of Sam’s Weird Afternoon.  I suppose you could say… I am hurling myself out there..initiating… introducing…beginning a new phase…embarking on something new…entering with enthusiasm…plunging into some new territory.
 
Will the mission set before me be a dangerous one???
Well….I have worked up to this day… and Sam and I have become life long buds!!…How did this all happen I sometimes think to myself???…. A very innocent act of wanting to see my story between the pages of a book cover has developed into so much more.  Not exactly what I had expected…but I am really enjoying myself.
 Here is a list my list of the top ten things I have learned …so far….as a published book writer…
  1. The publishing and marketing of  a book costs money.
  2. the publishing process takes time….Be patient…spend time perfecting the pages of your book and use that time to plan.
  3. this can all be very intimidating…however…Be proud of your book…and tell everyone you know …all about it .
  4. If you have a publisher…they will set your book up for sales…but it is the writer who actually has to sell the book..so the more people, groups etc. you can network with…the better.
  5. Once your book is released…your  phone will not be ringing off the hook…it is you who has to phone , phone, phone to set up events, readings, signings. 
  6. If you plan on selling books…consider yourself a business … develop a business and marketing plan.
  7. Your local radio and  newspaper will not know about you unless you tell them…write an article and yes…send it to them…now is no time to be timid.
  8. Set a date to begin selling and stick to it. It may be very difficult when friends and family are asking to buy NOW…but…don’t be swayed.  Your book will be on sale for years…what’s the rush???
  9. Sleepless nights come with the territory… you will worry about even the smallest detail of the book or an event or your planning.
  10. Sharing your book…the most difficult part of it all for me….putting yourself and your abilities out there for everyone to see and possibly judge…can be intimidating. With time my comfort level grew and grew  and by launch day, I was excited to share Sam.

I will stop obsessing about Sam and the book after tomorrow is over.

Have any of you had a book launch???  Have any words of wisdom to share will us???

________________________________________________________________________________________________

