Nostalgia is a file that removes the rough edges from the good old days.
Doug Larson

Here is a tidbit of information for all of you…did you know that ..•on this day in 1963….                                                                   Julian Lennon, the son of John Lennon, was born in Liverpool, England???

I realize that this event in itself if nothing very profound….and for some of you this will have no meaning at all…but for me…it made me think back to the old days and the Beatles…and…as well…I was in High School…High School !!!   Wow…now that is going back.

Last year was very interesting for me. It was my 40th school reunion…which I was not able to attend…however…over the months before  and after I was fortunate to catch up with a number of  old friends from my high school..Bunnell…in Stratford, Connecticut.  It was such fun to be able to see photos of everyone now and I would take out the old year book to check out  how I remembered them. It had been 40 years since we had been in touch and now many of us were retired, grandparents, and in some cases, still working hard and a few had passed away.

I collect memories of events on wine corks ..date, people, places.

Feelings of Nostalgia…that is what the thought of the birth of Julian Lennon brought to me today. Not Julian really…but…The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Lenard Cohen and all the memorable music  of the times. I remember ironing my hair every morning before school to make sure it was straight…and it was!! Straight and burnt…most likely…but that was not important.  And the deaths of celebrities seemed to be the thing of the day and I , still to this day, can remember when people like JFK, John Lennon and Martin Luther King …lives were taken so much before their time. 

I guess those were years of emotion…teenagers… to whom these events effected many of  us … the times we grew up in.  The world seems simpler now…or is it really???….What about the teens of today…I suppose their lives are full of a roller coaster of emotions just as ours used to be. I wonder what events of today are the ones they will remember with nostalgia when they are 50 yrs old???…the ones they will remember all the days of their lives??   And the music…music seems to be the communication of choice when we are teens…What is the music saying to teens today and what will it  be saying to generations to come???

Our cork collection...sorry...never turned photo

How about you???…Not a baby boomer???….what cases you to be nostalgic???…what events…what music????

__________________________________________________________________________________

Figured it out yet????

