Don’t simply retire from something; have something to retire to.  ~Harry Emerson

For a several years now, I have been retired…and I have been busier than ever. No, I don’t have to get up at the same time every day and I don’t have to get to the office at 8:3o to do all the tasks required by my job description. However…somewhere along the line my time got filled up and I wondered to myself…how ever did I have time for work????

I have heard so many people before me…decide not to retire because they are afraid they will have nothing to do with their time…or…they feel financially they are not in the place to do so.

Some things I have learned about retirement I would like to share with those of you who are nearing that time….

•If you can’t find a way to fill your time…have no fear…others will happily do that for you.

•Because of that….learning how to use  the word NO…and actually saying it …are crucial to keeping some control over your days.

•You will often answer the phone..usually at lunchtime…and there will be a pause…only then …to hear the voice of a phone solicitor mispronouncing your name. It is imperative that you develop an exit plan as  these calls, of which many you used to miss being at work… will  now become a regular occurence.

•They say that if you haven’t done it before retiring…you won’t do it after. I always believed that statement…however I can truely say….it is false!!  After retirement I published my first book.

•Make sure to call a friend for lunch on a regular basis. Just because you no longer have lunches out…doesn’t mean you can’t still do so.

•You may return to your work place for coffee breaks and gatherings….and it will be fun. But the day will come when , although your excoworkers might continue to invite you back…you will no longer have the time or interest to do so.

•Financially you will survive…and quite nicely. Fewer clothes, fewer meal out, fewer birthdays etc. to have to chip in for, and less gas for the car.  You will have to spend much less money now.

Half our life is spent trying to find something to do with the time we have rushed through life trying to save.  ~Will Rogers

How about you…retired??….thinking about i???….years away from it???  I have been out of work for some time…but technically will be retired in two months.  maybe I should celebrate???  Kind of anti climatic though.  My health problems caused me to quietly just slip away from my job which was out of my control…but in two months I hit the magic 80…and papers must be signed.

Planning to retire? Before you do find your hidden passion,
do the thing that you have always wanted to do.”
Catherine Pulsifer

____________________________________________

They almost look like pretty Easter Eggs.

