Secret

 1. Kept hidden from knowledge or view; concealed.                                                                                                       2. Dependably discreet.                                                                                                                                                              3. Operating in a hidden or confidential manner: a secret agent.                                                                                                                                                                                                   4. Not expressed; inward: their secret thoughts.                                                                                                           

 5. Not frequented; secluded: wandered about the secret byways of Paris.                                                            6. Known or shared only by the initiated: secret rites.                                                                                                   7. Beyond ordinary understanding; mysterious.          8. Containing information, the unauthorized disclosure of which poses a grave threat to national security.

 

 

Why talk about secrets you may be thinking?? …Well, last night I was watching a movie about two sisters who grew up together and were about 5 years apart. In this movie, the sisters came together after many years and after listening to each other ….the younger one came to find out the truth about events that occurred when she was young.

Two people …same parents…growing up side by side…or did they??? ….Physically I suppose…but …Secrets…secrets were told and suddenly the younger sister saw her past life in a very different light. 

Tell your friend a lie. If he keeps it secret, then tell him the truth.

 Proverb quotes

 

How do secrets become secrets???…Why do we keep them??…How do we choose  what to keep as a secret????…Do you have difficulty keeping a secret to yourself???…If you share your secret with one person, is it still a secret??…Why do we expect that person to keep our secret…if we haven’t been able to do so ourselves??? Just to be clear…I am not talking about ..the secret surprise party or the gift for someone.

If you reveal your secrets to the wind you should not blame the wind for revealing them to the trees.
 Kahlil Gibran

my secret is now out

I think there are times when we keep a secret as not to cause harm to another…or…we keep it because it is about us and we would be way too embarrassed to let it out…and..I think there are times when we keep a secret that would be best not kept at all.

We all keep secrets about ourselves….the old ….skeletons in the closet…so to speak.  I sometimes wonder why???  If we were to tell them all, most likely, it could be nothing more than an interesting tidbit someone learns about you, long after the fact. Like last years news. . I do believe our egos cause us to believe our secrets are more important than they are.  The longer we hold on to them the more important they become in our minds and the more  difficult/stressful  they are  to share .

I sometimes think about secrets…one I let out of the bag. How does  it feel to share …a bit stressful…and in a strange way…and how did you feel once I let it go….. relievered???…Did you ever think..geezz…why did I keep that a secret for so long anyway???

Maybe that is why so many North Americans spend money on therapists….to divuldge their secrets. Is it the same to tell a secret to a paid therapist as it is to a spouse or good friend???   I can’t answer that since I have never felt the need or wish to hire a  therapist.

Imagine if we divulged all of our secrets….imagine how that might feel. Maybe we just need to pass them o…secrets that is.

Aha!!! …I have it…Write down that secret and get rid of it…send it off as a  message in a bottle…or stuffed in a helium balloon…or written on a piece of paper and sent to some stranger. 

Secrets…I suppose if I wanted I could tell mine on this blog…but…I don’t think  I will bore you with my skeletons.

I actually think that secrets are just a part of human nature and that everybody should have some.
Elizabeth Banks__________ 

_____________________________________________

