“What is a great love of books? It is something like a
personal introduction to the great and good men of all past
times. Books, it is true, are silent as you see them on their
shelves; but, silent as they are, when I enter a library I
feel as if almost the dead were present, and I know if I put
questions to these books they will answer me with all the
faithfulness and fullness which has been left in them by the
great men who have left the books with us.”

— John Brigh

I think I have a love of books…I don’t read very many.I have always enjoyed books but to read often takes a lot of time and with all my other interests I am lucky to read a few books a year at best. But now it seems that I am surrounded by them. All of my Sam books of course but it seems that since I made it public knowledge that I write, a number of books have come my way. I have them stacked neatly and I look at them everyday ….and I know that eventually I will read them.

Being invited into a book club has been good for me in that it provides me with a specific book …as I have no idea what is out there…I have to  read over a designated time period…to then…discuss at the next meeting. Some of them..books that is… I have enjoyed and others were very difficult to get through without skimming. There is even one that was a movie and I opted to watch it instead of reading. But…it allowed me to be in the conversations.

‘Tis the good reader that makes the good book; in every book he finds passages which seem confidences or asides hidden from all else and unmistakably meant for his ear; the profit of books is according to the sensibility of the reader; the profoundest thought or passion sleeps as in a mine, until it is discovered by an equal mind and heart.  ~Ralph Waldo Emerson, Society and Solitude, 1870

For a person who is not a big reader…I now find myself surrounded with book pages, chapters, characters and discussions. I listen as my fellow book readers discuss  …authors…their writing styles…and what other books they have written. It is a whole other world…the book lover’s community…but I am trying to find my way and my comfortable place in it all. 

But Sam…and children’s books…a different love of books ..all together…a place I find I am quite comfortable to be in these days.

Are you a book lover??? …If you don’t read books…are you a book lover???….What about the person who loves collecting books???…or the person who loves the smell of books??? …What about if you are an adult and you enjoy children’s books???…Would an avid book reader consider any of these to actually   be a lover of books????…

Can a person who never learned how to read… be a lover of books???? I would say yes… how about you???

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

This is the very last cup of coffee I will be serving up…as it is time to begin a new collection. Check tomorrow to find out what I will come up with this time……

