Paths….But you have to take all of those things, you have to take into consideration the paths, the roadways, how much cloud cover there is, how much foliage cover there is, whether there are streams, all of that comes into play.
Richard Serra

Life is very interesting … the way it  lays out different paths for us to explore or not. I was talking with a long time friend , Susan , to be exact, about just that subject this weekend. Both she and I…  find ourselves in places that…2 years ago…we never could have imagined being in. But here we both are …and how interesting both our lives are at this moment in time.

Paths come in all different sizes and shapes. Some paths we take… are long and others are short. Some paths lead to a zillion other paths and others have only a few …some paths are very clearly defined …others are more like  those made by deer in the woods….some paths we are able to see for miles and others have so much growth around them we are only able to take them  one step at a time. Then there are the paths that are flat and easy to travel….and other that  are hilly with difficult terrain.

There are paths we walk  all alone and others not.  Sometimes we find ourselves on a lit path ….other times we must negotioate a path in the dark.

So that got me to wondering…hmmm….if  paths were clearly lit and laid out like a highway system ….and  if  we could have a bird’s eye view of them… would  the decision of which one to take be easier???…Would that cause us to avoid certain paths ???….Would that cause us to take the simpler paths??…Or would it make it all just more difficult????

I remember when I was much younger and  a bit more nieve.. taking paths …paths my parents did not agree with…but paths that were interesting and exciting. I also remember taking some paths that… unbeknownst to me …were actually quite dangerous.But when we are young…we are invincible…fearless.

We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.
Walt Disney

As we get on in years…do we look  for and take the safer…more predictable paths???…or …are we still curious…do we still like to …occasionally… take the more dangerous , less defined ones??? 

I don’t know about you…but right now for me … I am quite content with the path I am on with Sam. It appears clear and defined right now…but I am sure there will be hills and unclear parts to negotiate… coming up.

Soooo…what kind of path are you traveling on right now???.

__________________________________________________

I think I will go make myself another cup of coffee.  

