waiting

 being and remaining ready and available for use; completely prepared or in condition for immediate action or use or progress

Waiting is something I have done lots of over the past year with this book. I have waited in fear… I have waited with anticipation… I have waited  with patience…I have waited in excitement… I have waited with curiosity…and I have waited calmly…and all because of Sam.  

Fortunatly, I am a quilter and over the years I learned that…to be any kind of quilter at all…patience is a requirement…not just a good thing to have…but necessary to finish a piece …not in one day…not in one week…but in months and sometimes in years. So when I found out the book publishing process was a year-long event, my patience meter kicked in.

It is strange that the years teach us patience; that the shorter our time, the greater our capacity for waiting.
Elizabeth Taylor

Today as I thought about my books , soon to arrive…I began to think about how calm I am about it. That got me to wonder…why can we have so much patience for some things and for others have absolutely none??? 

So let’s think about it…..I am sure… most of us will agree… we have lost patience with our kids… and for sure our partner at times. We have lost our patience while driving if someone does not take off …the minute the light turns green…or…how about if in a long lineup at a store….or…if the computer takes too long to open a window. We can loose our patience over the tiniest of things.

The interesting thing about it is….does loosing our patience change things for the better???…probably not. Does loosing it make someone mover faster or the computer to speed up??.. most likely not. What it does do is cause a person stress.  So why lose our patience then????

maybe we should think about the times we don’t lose it…when reading a book…when sewing a quilt…when writing….when having friends come for dinner….when having our morning coffee….when we meet someone new….when we are involved in a passion/hobby/sport…doing yard work…when going for a walk…etc.

So is it the activity or person that allows us to be calm and patient…or….is it because we keep our emotions in check???…Do things/people… make us loose our patience or do we choose to lose it ??? 

I once read that when you lose your patience…and your emotions start kicking in….try smiling….so I did…and it actually distracted me for  a moment which was good….. if only I could recognize  those times and think  to smile. more often…would be good.

So…SMILE.___________________________________________________And have a cup of coffee…….

