I once collected buttons with no real measurable goal. Now I have jars and jars of them. They look pretty sitting on the shelf...but don't really have anything to do with them>

Goals

 

 

a goal is an observable and measurable end result having one or more objectives to be achieved within a more or less fixed timeframe.

We have all set goals for ourselves over the years…as I have…with some being met and others not.  So it made me wonder why?

I suppose some are easy and others are more difficult to meet…some we are passionate about and others are not…some are we enjoy working toward and others seem to be just plain work…some take a long time to meet and others not…sometimes we stay on course and other times we get sidetracked..other times we become discouraged and let the goal slip away or change it .  Goals… we all have them.

 

For me, writing my story was fun, trying to get someone to publish it seemed easy, getting through the publishing process was long, planning a marketing strategy became a passion of mine and now …my next goal is planning events and selling my book.

I wonder…how will I be with this??…Will I be able to stay on track??…Will I get discouraged??…Will this be fun??…Will it be too much work??  Lots of questions.

So …I suppose I should have a more concrete goal than just…sell books.  If I remember from what I have leaned int the past…a goal should be measurable and attainable. I also remember something about…reevaluating  it on a regular basis and making changes if needed.  

 If that is so….maybe I should put a number on my goal ….like….I want to sell 50 books…or 100 books…or 500 books????  All of these are measurable but attainable????…I suppose it depends how much I want to put into it.

If you don’t know where you are going. How can you expect to get there?

 Basil S. Walsh

I will think about that for a while and try to come up with a measurable goal/expectation  for me over the next year…the first year of my book and Sam.

And I must also remember what they say ……if you keep doing the same thing you will keep getting the same results. So reaching my goal may mean changing up my strategy once in a while.

Map out your future, but do it in pencil.  ~Jon Bon Jovi

How about you???…are you working toward a goal right now??…Is it measurable and attainable??…Is your strategy to attain it ….working for you????

___________________________________________________

And now …for your daily dose of caffine…..

