CRITICISM

 the act or an instance of making an unfavourable or severe judgment, comment, etc. .. the analysis or evaluation of a work of art, literature, etc. the occupation of a critic … a work that sets out to evaluate or … Also called textual criticism the investigation of a particular text, with related material, in order to establish an authentic text//

Criticism…it is something we all think about. There are times when we are criticised and times when we do the criticising. We like to think that we aren’t critical…but let’s face it…we just can’t help ourselves sometimes. And if you are like me …even just a weeny little bit…you don’t like being on the other end of it all…recieving criticism.

To avoid criticism do nothing, say nothing, be nothing.” — Elbert Hubbard

Little did I know that  in writing and having a book published…a person is leaving themselves wide open for the world to have an opinion about it…and as a published writer now…I know that although my best friends have nothing but good things to say about it…my book will not be so well received by all.

So that got me to wondering about how we handle receiving criticism??  We can ignore it…..we can take it personally…we can  get upset…we can truly listen to and learn..we can even thank the person for their advice.  sometimes we disagree with what is said and other times we know in our hearts it is true. .

So now with my book out…I have thought about it all and hope I will be able to graciously accept it  if/when it comes my way.  This is not what I signed up for when I first stepped into this writing adventure!!

I will be the first to admit that initially this whole thing was very intimidating and having to share my work to get endorsements was difficult. It has been almost a year now …and it somehow all changed as now… I am just excited to share Sam’s adventure with everyone I meet.

Now…how did that happen?????

____________________________________________________

 

