Routine… A prescribed, detailed course of action to be followed regularly; a standard procedure…A set of customary and often mechanically performed procedures or activities… Habitual; regular: made his routine trip to the store.


 

Do you remember when you were younger and your parent/s seemed to have some mechanically performed procedures they followed , day in  and day out???  Do you remember thinking…how boring….I will never be like that???

my collection of heart shaped rocks

 

Well…if you are anything like me…I have become entrenched in daily…habitual activities…and with each passing year…I seem to have more and more of them.  In fact tonight while cleaning up after supper …my comment to my husband was…we are like two well oiled machines, don’t you think..??? I said with pride.Each night it is as if we go into automatic pilot…and a thought came to me ….  We have become out parents!! 

Routine is a ground to stand on, a wall to retreat to; we cannot draw on our boots without bracing ourselves against it. 

— Henry David Thoreau 

So I began to wonder….Do we develop more routine as the years go by to make life easier for us?? …Do you  find that the more routine there is in our  life, the less you think???…Do you have routine  in your day because you want to or because you have to ???..Do you ever even think about this???? 

It is when my routine is interrupted …Itruly realize… it is not a matter of liking or disliking routine…but rather…that… I actually need it to get through the day!!!  .  It is on those days that we forget something…or make a mistake that we might stop and think about it at all.. 

That is what happened in our home today. It was only…After an hour of me driving through the thick fog…to deliver a forgotten  item …because of disruption of someone’s routine…that I finally got to my blog to-day 

I don’t have or need any routine….you might be thinking to yourself right now. But think again…do you brush your teeth before or after your shower??  Do you eat breakfast before or after you get dressed???  Do you put your keys in the same place every day??? Do you always grocery shop on Fridays??… Think about it . 

ROUTINE

It is as bad as knowing it is Sunday because there are fish cakes for breakfast.
– quoted in Isabel Lyon’s
 

________________________________________________________ 

Here for you ….more art in a coffee cup…. 

