Emotion….A mental state that arises spontaneously rather than through conscious effort and is often accompanied by physiological changes; a feeling: the emotions of joy, sorrow, reverence, hate, and love.

 

Feelings  are much like waves, we can’t stop them from coming but we can choose which one to surf.  ~Jonatan Mårtensson

The Olympics have begun and with it were the opening ceremonies. After the death of the Georgian athlete during his training run, I was curious as to how that would affect the games.  For me, and like possibly many others, the 2010 games began on a very , sad, emotional note. 

  • then the opening ceremonies began …and ….unlike some of the past  with their precision like productions…Vancouver put on what  I can only describe as….emotional. Considering the circumstances of the day….how very fitting that was.  And I have to tell you all it made me very proud to be living here in Canada.

I did wonder how the rest of the world viewed these opening ceremonies….and…were they as emotional about the production as I was???  I am sure there are those who are not interested in watching the sporting events but I if you are a lover of beauty, culture, art and  music….this event was a beautiful masterpiece if ever I saw one.

So…emotions…if they are  like  waves….do we really have a choice of which wave to ride?  Or is it rather…we have a choice of how to ride the waves  we find ourselves on??  

In Mexico I spent hours watching surfers sitting on their boards in the ocean, waiting for the right wave.  Some rides were long, some very short. Some waves were not big enough and others were too big for the person trying to ride it. there were surfers who stayed out there ofr hours and others who did not. Some surfers seemed more experienced than others. Some surfers were young and others older.

So what is it that helps us to ride our waves?  Is it experince?…or age?…or determination?…or the challenge?  ….control??….supports??

Whatever emotional wave we  ride, may we all  have what it takes to successfully get to shore.

There is no secret to balance. You just have to feel the waves…..Frank Herbert

______________________________________________________________________________
And now….from waves and emotions to weirdness….here is the last of my hat collection.  A new collection will begin tomorrow….till then….

