Serendipity or  Synchronicity…..which is it?

We all have vocabulary we use everyday without thinking. We attach words to things,emotions,  events and actions a zillion times a day…but have you ever thought about their meanings? Well, Yesterday an event occurred which in the past I would have called Sarendipidous….but after looking up the meaning today, I found out that yesterday’s event was not… sarindipidy…but rather …synchronicity!!

Synchronicity is an ever-present reality for those who have eyes to see….Carl Jung

Serendipity  is the faculty of making fortunate discoveries by accident… The fact or occurrence of such discoveries… An instance of making such a discovery.

Synchronicity is the experience of two or more events that are causally unrelated occurring together in a meaningful way.To count as   synchronicity, the event should be unlikely to occur together by chance.

The event that occurred to me was my discussing a strange , obscure topic with my husband over supper…can’t remember exactly what, but minutes following that, that same topic was mentioned on the radio. . These small events occur on a regular basis to me and they makes me wonder….is there any meaning to these connected events? For example…thinking about someone and they call you or talking about a thing and it appears on TV just hours later.

Yesterday I would have called such an event. ..serendipity..but how wrong I would have been! 

And so I began to wonder… Do these events happen to everyone but not everyone recognizes them? Do they only occur to certain people? And if they do, does that mean those people have a special connectedness to the universe?  Everytime a synchronicity occurs… it makes me wonder…did the second event occur because I had said or done what I did…or did it happen because I was unconsciously able to make it occur…or neither? Can a person cause a synchronicity to occur? Is synchronicity occurring all around us all the time and we just don’t recognize them? Do some of us just WANT to find connections in life…so we watch for them and find them?

  Or is synchronicity out of our control? 

I found this example to share with you which explains very well the meaning of this word…The French writer Émile Deschamps claims in his memoirs that in 1805, he was treated to some plum pudding by a stranger named Monsieur de Fontgibu. Ten years later, the writer encountered plum pudding on the menu of a Paris restaurant and wanted to order some, but the waiter told him that the last dish had already been served to another customer, who turned out to be de Fontgibu. Many years later, in 1832, Deschamps was at a dinner and once again ordered plum pudding. He recalled the earlier incident and told his friends that only de Fontgibu was missing to make the setting complete—and in the same instant, the now senile de Fontgibu entered the room.[8]

Factual information alone isn’t sufficient to guide you through life’s labyrinthine tests.  You need and deserve regular deliveries of uncanny revelation.  One of your inalienable rights as a human being should therefore be to receive a mysteriously useful omen every day of your life. …Rob Brezsny

How about you?  Have you experienced synchronicity in your life? Would you see it if it came your way?

“I… believe in an everyday sort of magic — the inexplicable connectedness we sometimes experience with places, people, works of art and the like; the eerie appropriateness of moments of synchronicity…”..— Charles de Lint

I have , for sure have had serendipitous events occur…but now I will know the difference. Will you?

Surprise….Guess what…Juan Mejias…shoe artist has given me a few more shoes to post…..

Thanks to Juan for sharing his art with us. For more, see my blogroll.

 
