Personal  Legends

I have been reading the Alchemist by Paulo Coelho which is making me think about…my… Personal Legend. I don’t remember having a personal legend when I was young…or did I ? …and has it just been long forgotten?  Or am I living my legend?

It’s [your Personal Legend]                                                                                                                                                                                                               what you have always wanted to accomplish.  Everyone, when they are young, knows what their Personal Legend is.  At that point in their lives, everything is clear and everything is possible.  They are not afraid to dream, and to yearn for everything they would like to see happen to them in their lives.  But, as time passes, a mysterious force begins to convince them that it will be impossible for them to realize their Personal Legend.  –  The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

So what might a personal legend actually be?  If you listen to children… they have dreams….dreams of being a  fireman, the president, an astronaut, a ballerina, or possibly to travel the world. Children dream that they would like to be a hocky star or a movie star or even a writer. It is true that children are not afraid to dream….but when do they stop dreaming?  and what is it that causes them to stop?

It is not true that people stop pursuing dreams because they grow old, they grow old because they stop pursuing dreams.
Gabriel Garcia Marquez

I suppose you can say , as we get older …our dreams about our lives ….go from BIG …to …little…more realistic dreams. What is it that makes that happen? Is it because once we learn more about our personal legend, we feel it is out of our reach? Is it because other people lead us to believe our personal legend is an impossible dream? Is it because it is going to take more work than we are willing to put in? Is it fear that stops us from trying to achieve it? Is it money? Is it health? Or are these all just excuses ? Can our personal legend change? Are we allowed to change it? And if we do…is it really our legend anymore?”

“When I have been truly searching for my treasure, I’ve discovered things along the way that I never would have seen had I not had the courage to try things that seemed impossible for a shepherd to achieve.”…..The Alchemist

The book …The Alchemist…is such a wonderful read. It  made me think about my life and my Personal Legend. I believe that…In paying attention to the main character…the Shepard…you realize why having a Personal Legend is so important. It is not the Legend itself…it is …what you learn , see and live along the way to that legend that matters. It is the jouney..as they say. It is about finding yourself  in not so wonderful situations…as you try to get there….but always finding the silver lining in each time. It is about keeping your eye on what is important…to have a goal and work toward it…but not at the exclusion of everything else…and to be sure to not wear blinders as you go on your way….or you will miss so very much…possibly even an OMEN…as the shepard calls it…that might have been very  important in directing you…

Can a personal legend include small , different legends along the way?  Is my book one of those small legends?

Did/do you have a personal legend? Are you traveling toward it? If so, what have you seen, heard or learned along the way? Hav you had some difficult times…but have you looked for or found the  silver linings???

The biggest adventure you can take is to live the life of your dreams.
Oprah Winfrey

More of my shoe collection….


