A birthday is just the first day of another 365-day journey around the sun. Enjoy the trip. ~Author Unknown

Events yesterday caused me to think about birthdays. First off…Yesterday was my sister’s birthday…Happy birthday Sis! Also, yesterday, I met a friend in the mall who told me his wife’s birthday was coming up. In both cases they both were turning 60. It got me thinking about birthdays in general and then ..of course…my age and my birthday. In 2011, I will be turning 60 as well.

I’m 60 years of age…. That’s 16 Celsius. ~George Carlin

interesting how we each approach birthdays in different ways.  Some people celebrate, others try to quietly get through the day without their birthday being recognized and some will tell you that each birthday  depresses them . Is there a  right way to handle s birthday? Should a birthday be a day of mourning or a day of celebration?  Is a birthday a time of looking back? …or.. \ for looking ahead?  Should a birthday be important? or…Should a birthday be like any other day of the week/year?  How important is a birthday? Is a person any different before  and then after a birthday?

Well, for me , turning 30 was interesting. Like many, I thought I would be there! I thought I wold be at a place in my live where my career, home etc. were now solid…didn’t happen. Although I must admit…I really didn’t know WHERE I thought I would be.At 40…hmmm…can’t really remember much but I guess that was when I was THERE! Age  50 was the time when I organized a big  party and celebrated…it was great…felt like I was joining an élite club….life was easier…with less responsibilities…more fun…and…if I had a purple dress…I would have worn it with pride!!!

Turning 60. This birthday for many, is not one to be celebrate..but instead…one that should pass without notice. However, turning 60 for me has a special significance and  will surly be a time of celebration . Upon being diagnosed with Breast Cancer at age 48, I remember saying to the oncologist  “So what you are saying is that I will not ever get to the ripe old age of 60?” Of course he didn’t  really answer. However… A person thinks like that when they are faced with such news. But….  here I am and next year I will be 60!!!  It will be a time for celebration…celebration of a birthday….a bithday I never thought I would ever have the CHANCE to celebrate. Celebration of life I suppose in the real sence of the word.

Birthdays are good for you. Statistics show that the people who have the most live the longest. ….Larry Lorenzoni

Birthdays have absolutely nothing to do with my book. But wait a minute….Hmmmm….here’s a thought…Sam…maybe Sam should have a birthday!  I tried to think of an appropriate date and it came to me…February 17th. Why that date you may be wondering?? Well , when I was young… my birthday was celebrated on that day. Some years later my sister and I found my birth certificate in a drawer, only to learn  that my real birth date was the 16!! Really quite funny when you think about it and of course something I always remembered. So why not give that birthday to Sam…quite fitting I would say. People keep calling Sam …my alter ego!!

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years. …Abraham Lincoln

Wouldn’t be the end of my blog without a few more shoes…..

