The fish  knows that it lives in the water… only when…  it lands on the river bank. …unknown      

 Today I was driving down a road, the same road that I have driven down for the past twenty years…and I had a thought. I thought about how differently this road looks on those days that I walk down it.  When I drive  it, I am not aware of much more than the road itself and the traffic on, and around it. But when I walk that same road, that is when I see the beautiful gardens in summer and the wispy, swirling smoke rising from the chimneys  in the winter. 

 So I wondered…If we never walk down those roads…are we like the fish, unaware we are living in water?  

Awareness requires a rupture with the world we take for granted; then old categories of experience are called into question and revised…..Shoshana Zuboff 

Awareness and perception …does one affect the other? Can you be aware if your perception is limited? Can you be perceptive if you are not aware? Can one exist without the other?  

Be More Aware…Change Your Perspective 

  1. Drive down a different street on your way home from work
  2. If you take showers, try a bath.
  3. Sit in a different seat when watching  T.V.
  4. When putting your pants on try changing which leg you put in first.
  5. When you go to cross your arms, change which one is on the top.
  6. Have your morning coffee in a different cup each day.
  7. Try sleeping on the other side of the bed.
  8. If  you treat yourself to  massages…try a facial next time.
  9. If when you talk on the phone your eyes are open, close them.
  10. If when you vacuüm you start at one end of the house…try starting at the other. 
  11. rotate who sits at the “head of the table,
  12. ” trade a chore for a week,
  13.  let the youngest in the family make the toast at the celebration,
  14.  let your child choose other than a birthday cake, etc.  

The last four came from one of my readers. Thanks

If you have any ideas that we  can add to this list, please send rotate who sits at the “head of the table,” trade a chore for a week, let the youngest in the family make the toast at the celebration, let your child choose other than a birthday cake, etc.them to me. I am sure there are zillions!                                How perceptive are you… do you  what this is saying?  

I still have a few more weird shoes to share with you…. 

  

  

 

