Had my first ski of the year yesterday. It was bitterly cold so I had to make it a short one…which was a good idea as today I woke up with no residual muscle aches. Today is even colder….  minus 25 degrees cel…-12 degrees far..  now that is cold! 

Did you know that today is Kakizome meaning ……”first writing” of the year. In Japan, people celebrate this day by writing a favorite poem or proverb with the traditional oriental ink brushes. 

Kakizome….what an interesting concept…I think I will celebrate the day by writing a favorite poem here on my blog. It may not be in traditional oriental ink brushes….but I will just consider my keyboard to be my brush. 

Following is a favorite poem of mine. My mother always loved daffodils and after she passed away, her favorite poem became mine as well…… 

Daffodils 

 


 

by William Wordsworth

  

I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o'er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd, 
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.
Continuous as the stars that shine
 And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.                              
The waves beside them danced, but they
Outdid the sparkling waves in glee:
A poet could not but be gay,
In such a jocund company.
I gazed-and gazed-but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought;                                
For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood 
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

 This poem always makes me think of my mom and warmer days.
Do you have a favorite poem or phrase. I would love to hear it and then you too can celebrate Kakizome!
