The Puzzle

I sat with my proofreader tonight and she was not able to find any gramatical or spelling problems…and so she signed the approval form and tomorrow I will email the book in and fax the form in to Tate. Ahhh…one more phase is now over and I can relax for a bit now until illustration dept contacts me.

I recieved an email today from a fellow writer who is being published by Tate Publishing. It was a bit worrisome as she recieved her book cover illustrations and is not happy with them. Now that is the one thing that I too am concerned about…you know…a picture says a thousand words…and I…like I am sure…every other writer …wants that picture to say exactly the RIGHT words.

I suppose writing a book is like putting together a puzzle…all the pieces have to fit together properly and they all have to be there.  During my years working with staff of preschool children, I don’t know how many times I would find a puzzle or two , missing a piece and I would have to ask the staff to take that puzzle off the shelf , and or,  toss it in the basket. After a few confused looks I would explain that a puzzle is a activity for the child to do, finish and enjoy. If one piece is missing they are not able to finish it and thus  cannot get that same feeling of success they would if they ended up with a whole, finished product. Children depend on adults to do something about the missng pieces in their puzzles.

A book is made up of many parts , like a puzzle..that when put together properly …and if all the parts are there … will give you a   good finished product. But when… events occur like the book cover not satisfactory, or, the editing not well done, just  like the puzzle with the missing piece, that should have been a positive experience, becomes instead, stressful and truely….. no fun at all. 

In some ways life does not really change as we age . In a lot of ways…we are just older and our toys are different , more expensive and more complex.  I sometimes have to wonder…how many puzzles with lost pieces have we been forced to contend with as a child…and do we need to keep  accepting puzzles with  missing pieces ..now in our adult years?

DO YOU HAVE A PUZZLE THAT IS MISSING A PIECE???

