Yes…there may come a day when our life will flash before our eyes…would ours be worth watching???

Have you ever had a moment … a moment when something caused your life to flash before you???…a moment when something  caused you to take a serious look at the years that have passed. ..how you have  spent them..something that made you wonder about the years to come and how you will spend them???…If your life flashed before you today…can you say…Yes…it was worth watching or do you think you would want to change the channel ???

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if we had the ability to look back…and change the channel if we did not like what flashed before us???

Well…we all know that is not possible…what is past is past…However .. if our life has not been worth watching…or if our life could be a better watch…do we have the capacity to change that???…Can a person make their life…a …more worth while watch??…In the hustle and bustle of our daily routine…can a person make changes  to  their own channel???…Can we work to change  the inevitable “life flashing  before our eyes” so we will be happy with the channel our life has been on???

That got me wondering…Is it possible in looking back…  that what we see flash before our eyes …is in part …reality combined with our  perceived reality???…Is it possible that the life that might flash before us…is a mixture of…people and events and behaviors…that we have come to believe as our life…but may not have actually occurred as we remember???….Can there be memories of our lives…that  have been manufactured by others…or…redesigned by ourselves to suit our needs and attitudes ???

Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.  Albert Einstein

I wonder about this …as there are days I pick up an old journal I have written …and…I read and find to my surprise that…what I wrote about an event or feeling or behavior of a certain day…is very different from what I… now remember it to have been….In some cases it may have been only a few years and still…my memory has …over time… become distorted…So now I wonder about… if my life flashes before me one day…will it be my real life or my life distorted by time and the tricks my memory might have played.

So now I wonder…How  much of my life …that I remember to be my life…really is???…How much is a distortion of it???…When my life flashes before me one day…will I truly be watching my channel or might it be a bad connection somewhere…causing distortion???…

Only in quiet waters do things mirror themselves undistorted.

Only in a quiet mind is adequate perception of the world.

Hans Margolius

Think about it….How quiet are  your waters ???…How distorted are your  perceptions???



