Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; however you are the one who gets burned.

- Buddha

Anger…who of us has never been angry??…Is it true that holding on to that anger …can  cause pain and possibly leave scars??…So I got  to wondering about anger and pain….If this is true then…does  that mean… the angrier a person is the more pain they will inflict upon themselves and the worse the scars will be???

When a person looks at anger as a hot coal…it makes one wonder…why would a person ever want to be angry???…Why would a person want to cause themselves pain…pain that they do not …HAVE…to endure???

But …you are now saying to yourself…but how does a person not get angry??…We all get angry at times…right???…And we all have times that someone or something just riles us up…I bet we have all had times when we were holding onto that hot coal of anger …with intentions of tossing it at someone…and before we even could…the coal/anger had already burned us.

Think about it…what if a person was angry for a very long time???…Would that mean that the pain would last for much longer as well??…And if that is so…wouldn’t it make sense to drop the hot coal…the anger…as soon as possible???…Wouldn’t  it be smart to …not even pick up the hot coal to begin with???….Would anyone …knowingly …consider doing such a thing??

So…you have to wonder…why do we allow ourselves to become angry???….Can anything good …actually come out of such emotions…reactions??…I am sure we have all known at least one person….who seems to be  angry ??…people who are carrying hot coals around with them…all the time… I wonder if they have any idea how that is affecting them…Could it be that the longer a person carries around a hot coal…he begins not to even feel it anymore???…I would hate to think that anyone would actually enjoy holding a hot coal…would they????

Now…this all has me wondering about anger and me…am I carrying any hot coals around at the moment???…And if so…How long have I been carrying them around with me???…I  have some serious thinking to do…and probably a few coals that need to be  dropped…I will think about this next time I feel anger building up…and next time I hope I can be smart enough to ….not  even pick up the  that hot coal…Maybe  the picture  at the start of my post will be a good visual reminder.

What about you….are you lugging around any hot coals ??? Coals you might be wanting to drop??

I once read that when you feel anger beginning to build up…just even for a few seconds…mentally…find and go to your happy place…it might just help let the anger disappear…. POOF!!!..It is worth a try.

 

